restaurant

Salto!

Salto! Restaurant (Lier)

© Salto!

  • Date
  • share

Along the Nete River, just south of Antwerp, Salto! is making a splash! Behind the bar? Joris Duys and Natania Van De Schoor, who steer the helm with Piquette, their natural wine importing company, through an ocean of uncool alcohols, and delight Lierre locals at this formidably well-stocked bistro. Perched on one of the counter stools, with Jacques Dutronc for company (his music, not in the flesh), we nibbled: tasty smoked mackerel with a horseradish zing, cucumber and a dill cream; brined lamb’s tongue cooked in lamb stock before being smoked over beech wood, with a dollop of dandelion sauce gribiche; and Txogitxu prime rib for two, which was on another level, served with a Belgian lettuce salad and impeccable fries. // Kiko Zushi

FEELING THIRSTY? Let the good times roll with a skin-contact Cinciallegra from Silvia Tezza in Veneto (€8 a glass, €40 a bottle), Insoumis, a Valais red from Mythopia (€89 a bottle), or Tropical Hazy IPA Kitropiki from De Mortselarij Brewery (€7 for 330 ml). And for a delightful, alcohol-free, Antwerp aperitif, there’s the Shizo from Bōtan Distillery (€8 a glass).

PRICE: Appetizers €5-15, à la carte €62-70

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The new Le Fooding France Guide is available!

Inside the latest edition, discover our top 400 restaurants, bars, wine cellars, shops and hotels from all over France that’ll be the talk of the town in 2024. Anything else? Our 16-strong list of award winners you’ll not find anywhere else, and nine articles which shine a light on the taste of the times!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Salto!

Restaurant Salto! (Lierre)

© Salto!

  • Date
  • partager

Au bord de la Nete, au sud d’Anvers, Salto! éclabousse ses voisins d’un bon gros splash ! À la barre ? Joris Duys et Natania Van De Schoor, qui mènent leur barque avec Piquette, leur boîte d’import de vins naturels, dans un océan de picole pas cool, et régalent le Tout-Lierre dans ce bistroquet terriblement bien achalandé. Embecqué sur l’un des tabourets du comptoir, en compagnie de Jacques Dutronc – en musique, pas en chair et os : gentil maquereau fumé réveillé de raifort, concombre et crème anethée ; petites langues d’agneau saumurées puis cuites dans un bouillon d’agneau avant d’être fumées au bois de hêtre, léchouillant une sauce gribiche au pissenlit ; et côte de bœuf Txogitxu pour deux, de haut vol, servie avec une salade de laitue belge et des frites impec’… // Kiko Zushi

POUR LA SOIF ? Ce serait dommage de finir à l’eau ! Macération de Vénétie Cinciallegra de Silvia Tezza (8 € le verre, 40 € la bouteille), rouge du Valais Insoumis de Mythopia (89 € le flacon), bière Tropical Hazy IPA Kitropiki signée De Mortselarij Brewery (7 € les 33 cl)… Et en désalcoolisé, un apéritif anversois non sans kif, le Shizo de Bōtan Distillery (8 € le verre).

LES PRIX : amuse-gueules 5-15 €, carte 62-70 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.