bar

Copain

Copain Bar (Brussels)

© Shannon Rowies

  • Date
  • share

A wine bar or a beer bar? Both, damnit! Arnaud Marchal and Jérémy Rommelaere couldn’t make up their mind and now they’re quenching people’s thirst in the Schaerbeek neighborhood from behind the inviting counter of this friendly bar (brick and wood walls, a small lounge corner, high tables with barstools). The night we went, Aivi Kotov (who we’d already seen at L’Amère à Boire) was tossing out his Belgian recommendations with gusto, despite a major rush of customers: a sour rye beer from the Brasserie de La Jungle (€17 for 750 ml) and a lager from the Brasserie de l’Ermitage on tap (€5 for 330 ml) or a Mésange saison from the Brasserie de la Source (€20 for 750 ml). As for the fermented grape juices, there’s something for every palate, so long as your tastes tend to be natural: a Grüner Veltilner from Austrian producer Johannes Trapl (€7 a glass) or Terre di Venticano, a red from Vincenzo Nardone in Campania (€33 a bottle). And so you don’t wind up totally smashed, there are cheese and charcuterie platters (€19) or mackerel rillettes (€8) served with bread from Le Pain Levé. // Luce Berdon

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

bar

Copain

Bar Copain (Bruxelles)

© Shannon Rowies

  • Date
  • partager

Bar à pifs ou à pintes ? Les deux, fieu ! Comme Arnaud Marchal et Jérémy Rommelaere, qui ont lâché leurs affaires dans le BW (la brasserie Balle Neuves pour le premier, le Cubana Café pour le second) pour étancher la soif du 1030 derrière le comptoir viens-me-voir de ce bar de Copains – murs briques et bois, petit coin salon, tables hautes tabourettées… Ce soir-là, Aivi Kotov (vu à L’Amère à Boire) larguait ses recos belges avec fougue, malgré un sévère rush : sour-seigle de la Brasserie La Jungle (17 € les 75 cl), blonde de la Brasserie de l’Ermitage au fût (5 € les 33 cl) ou saison Mésange de la Brasserie de la Source (20 € les 75 cl). Côté raisin, il y en a pour tous les goûts, tant qu’ils versent dans le nature, comme ce grûner-veltliner de l’Autrichien Johannes Trapl (7 € le verre) ou ce rouge de Campanie Terre di Venticano de Vincenzo Nardone (35 € la ‘teille). Pour ne pas finir paf, planches mixtes (fromages de Pierre Houtain, charcut’ italiennes de chez Miro à 19 €) ou rillettes de maquereau (8 €), avec les miches du Pain Levé. // Luce Berdon

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie « Belgium Underground » qui explore les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.