room

Hôtel de Verdun 1882

Hôtel de Verdun 1882

© Hervé Goluza

  • Date
  • share

NUMBER OF ROOMS: Thirty rooms
ANNUAL CLOSURE: Open year round

THE STORY: Careful where you step, this place is practically an antique shop! Just a stone’s throw from Lyon’s antique dealer neighborhood, the very chic hôtel particulier that once housed Fritz Hoffner (founder of the legendary Brasserie Georges) now provides shelter to the Hôtel de Verdun 1882, which has been decorated by Studio Olivier Guyot. You’ll want to take your time eyeballing each of the vintage posters, souvenirs, old books and furniture unearthed by owners Isabelle and Gilles Moynier. What about the bedrooms? There are 30 of them centered around a beautiful stone staircase, dressed in elegant tones (camel, slate gray, wine bottle green), comforting materials (soft carpeting, velvet curtains…) and modern furniture – like Saarinen’s Tulip chairs, nabbed from the École Centrale Paris. The cherry atop this trinket? Certain bedrooms boast cheeky little balconies, and the common space is equipped with a lovely kitchenette where you can cook your own meals. Double rooms starting at €124 a night.

BREAKFAST: €14, with coffee or tea, freshly pressed fruit juices, bread and viennoiseries straight from the Au Vieux Pétrin bakery, homemade cake, cheese from Mons… It’s worth noting that the fruit and herbs for your breakfast infusions are harvested fresh from the hotel’s vegetable patch!
TOILETRIES: Soap, shampoo and care products scented with lemon, basil or rosemary, crafted in an organic and eco-friendly soap factory in the Isère department.
LITTLE LUXURY: Explore the neighborhood with its innumerable galleries, antique shops, modern furniture shops and the Musée des Tissus et des Arts Décoratifs.

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

chambre

Hôtel de Verdun 1882

Week-end au pays de la chine

Hôtel de Verdun 1882

© Hervé Goluza

  • Date
  • partager

LA PETITE HISTOIRE ? Attention, ça va brocanter ! À quelques encablures du quartier des antiquaires lyonnais, le très chic hôtel particulier qui asila jadis Fritz Hoffner (fondateur de la mythique Brasserie Georges) abrite désormais l’Hôtel de Verdun 1882, rhabillé par le Studio Olivier Guyot. Où il fait bon prendre le temps de lorgner chaque affiche dénichée, objet rapporté, livre trouvé et pièce de mobilier chiné par les proprios Isabelle et Gilles Moynier. Côté plumard ? 30 chambres se découvrent autour d’un bel escalier en pierre, toutes parées de teintes élégantes (camel, gris anthracite, vert bouteille), matières enveloppantes (moquette moelleuse, rideau en velours…) et mobilier design – comme ces chaises Tulip de Saarinen, chopées à l’École centrale Paris. Cerise sur le bibelot ? Certaines piaules possèdent un coquet balconnet, et les communs une minette kitchenette où cuisiner ses fraîches emplettes. Chambre double à partir de 124 € la nuit.

PETIT DÉJEUNER : 14 €, avec boissons chaudes, jus frais pressés, pain et viennoiseries en direct d’Au Vieux Pétrin, gâteau maison, fromages de chez Mons… À noter, les fruits et plantes qui nagent dans les eaux parfumées viennent tout droit du potager des hôteliers !

TROUSSE DE TOILETTE : savon, shampoing et produits de soin au citron, basilic ou romarin, conçus par une savonnerie bio et écoresponsables en Isère.

PETIT LUXE : vadrouiller le nez au vent dans le quartier, entre les galeries, antiquaires, boutiques design et musées des Tissus et des Arts Décoratifs.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.