restaurant

Mahaina

Un amour de resto de vacances !

Restaurant Mahaina (Bidart)

© Mahaina

  • Date
  • share

On a small street that gives out onto the Avenue de la Grande-Plage, a stone’s throw from Bidart’s town hall, there’s a tantalizing new spot to enjoy. It’s run by the duo Julie Montorcier and Valentin Frezier (ex-Ithurria, Les Frères Ibarboure and L’Impertinent) who gave up Michelin-starred restaurants to take on pinxtos in a red and white timbered house named Mahaina. The day we went for lunch, we opted for the maxi-version: crispy yet tender Manex pork trotters with added color from beets (raw, cooked and prepared as ketchup); flawless Saint-Jean-de-Luz monkfish cooked on the plancha, served with braised lettuce hearts and peppers (flame-charred red and fermented green), all doused with a Xérès jus; before some incredible cream puffs that combined puff pastry, frozen yogurt, whipped cream, sesame-almond nougatine and a white chocolate/white miso sauce. You also won’t want to miss the mouthwatering tapas either: green olive, tomato and anchovy focaccia; local charcuterie; homemade mezze (pita bread, smoked eggplant, tzatziki, red bean hummus)… // Gérard Roubeix 

FEELING THIRSTY? Chemical-free wines: a Navarre Chardonnay from Quaderna Via (€6 a glass), a Vouvray by Florian Le Capitaine (€35 a bottle), a Lot orange wine from Fabien Jouves (€42)… 
PRICE: À la carte €33-52, tapas €3.50 to €12, kids’ menu €17. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Mahaina

Un amour de resto de vacances !

Restaurant Mahaina (Bidart)

© Mahaina

  • Date
  • partager

Dans une ruelle donnant sur l’avenue de la Grande-Plage, à une pincée de sable de la mairie de Bidart, les avaleur·se·s de rouleaux (et les autres) ont du nouveau à se mettre sous la dent : le binôme Julie Montorcier et Valentin Frezier (ex-Ithurria, Les Frères Ibarboure et L’Impertinent) a laissé tombé l’étoilé pour jouer à pintxe-mi et pintxe-moi dans une maison à colombages rouge et blanc blazée Mahaina. Pour nous ce midi-là, en version maxi : crousti-fondant pied de cochon Manex coloré à la betterave (crue, cuite et en ketchup) ; irréprochable lotte luzienne à la plancha, flanquée de cœurs de laitue braisés et poivrons (rouge chalumé et vert fermenté), le tout arrosé d’un jus au xérès ; avant de mortelles profiteroles combinant choux craquelins, glace au yaourt, chantilly, nougatine sésame-amandes et sauce choco et miso – blancs tous les deux. À ne pas louper également, les aguichantes tapas : focaccia aux olives vertes, tomates et anchois ; chacut’ du coin ; mezzés maison (pain pita, aubergine fumée, tzatziki, houmous de haricots rouges)… // Gérard Roubeix

POUR LA SOIF ? Des jajas sans chimie : chardonnay navarrais estampillé Quaderna Via (6 € le verre), vouvray par Florian Le Capitaine (35 € la bouteille), macération lotoise de Fabien Jouves (42 €)…

LES PRIX : carte 33-52 €, tapas 3,50 à 12 €, menu enfants 17 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.