restaurant

Bistrot Bao

Bistrot Bao (Groix)

© Gaele Flao

  • Date
  • share

Patrick Saigot, the owner of Les Fumaisons in Groix, set up Bistrot Bao (the local name for longline fishing) where the Kreiz Er Mor crêperie used to be. Seated on the terrace or in the somewhat rustic dining room (old tile floors, straw-bottomed chairs), tourists and fishermen come to wolf down the delicate treats made by Julia Carrio and Maxime Quiltu, who both previously worked at Le Poulpe in Caudan. The day we went for lunch, the à la carte menu featured a selection of locally sourced fish and vegetables: a feisty shellfish gazpacho; beautiful pieces of lobster enveloped in a moussey sage butter, paired with organic spinach and artichokes; a tender Albacore tuna steak seared on the teppanyaki grill and served with a seaweed and cauliflower cream; before a marvelously moist lemon cake made with buttermilk and rosemary-infused oil. It’s bao time, baby!// L.T.

FEELING THIRSTY? All natural: an Anjou Chenin from Les Mosses (€6 a glass), a Touraine Sauvignon from Noëlla Morantin (€30 a bottle), a red Cheverny from Hervé Villemade (€30)… But there’s also apple juice (€3) and cider (6 for 330 ml) from La Ferme de Port Coustic.

PRICE: À la carte €37-47.

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Bistrot Bao

Bistrot Bao (Groix)

© Gaele Flao

  • Date
  • partager

Patron des Fumaisons à Groix, Patrick Saigot a campé son Bistrot Bao (nom local de la palangre) en lieu et place de la crêperie Kreiz Er Mor. Là, en terrasse ou dans une salle un poil rustique (vieux carrelage, chaises paillées), touristes et loups de mer viennent engloutir les délices de Julia Carrio et Maxime Quiltu, passés par Le Poulpe à Lorient. Ce midi-là, à la carte approvisionnée par les pêcheurs et maraîchers du coin : impétueux gaspacho aux coquillages ; beaux morceaux de homard dans un beurre de sauge tout mousseux, avec épinard et artichaut bio ; tendre pavé de thon blanc cuit sur plancha teppanyaki, accompagné d’une crème de chou-fleur aux algues ; avant une merveille de moelleux à base de citron, lait ribot et huile de romarin. C’est de la bao, bébé ! // Lola Tobelem

POUR LA SOIF ? Nature toute : chenin angevin des Mosse (6 € le verre), sauvignon tourangeau de Noëlla Morantin (30 € la bouteille), cheverny rouge d’Hervé Villemade (30 €)… Mais aussi, jus de pomme (3 €) et cidre (6 € les 33 cl) de La ferme de Port Coustic.

LES PRIX : Carte 37-47 €.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide papier et numérique des restaurants, chef·fe·s, bars, chambres d’hôte et hôtels de style qui font le « goût de l’époque », un palmarès annuel des nouvelles adresses partout en France, un service répertoriant le meilleur du take-away et de la livraison, un outil de réservation de super bistrots, des événements gastronomiques, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus… Tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.