restaurant

Caillebotte

Caillebotte (Paris)

© Yves Nespoulous

  • Date
  • share

Much like the eponymous painter, Caillebotte captures the light with its big windowed walls, blonde wood and floating suspension lamps. In the space designed by Camille Flammarion, acolytes Franck Baranger and Edouard Bobin have been running this vibrant, impressionist bistro for the last eight seasons. The other day at lunch, the €38 prix-fixe menu (also served at night) was a fine demonstration: a peaceful pea and mint velouté with crème fraîche, dotted with radishes and crushed hazelnuts; a fun fillet of pollack slow-roasted in olive oil, swimming in a pool of fregola sarda moistened by a saffron mussel jus with crumbled chorizo; before a fauvist dessert combining quartered strawberries, rhubarb compote, peppercorn shortbread and tarragon ice cream. Another option available only at lunch is the set menu for less than 20 bucks: a mussel raviolo with pickled shallot and mustard seeds, spinach and a full-bodied jus de marinière reduction; pollack with broccoli rabe, roasted red onions and a smoked paprika sabayon… // A.A.

FEELING THIRSTY? There’s an academic wine selection: a Loire white from Yves Cuilleron (€7 a glass), a Sancerre white from Matthieu Delaporte (€38 a bottle), or a Gard red from David Rey (€35)…

PRICE: Set menu €19 (weekday lunch), menus €38 (lunch and dinner) and €49 (dinner), à la carte €41-48.

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Caillebotte

Caillebotte (Paris)

© Yves Nespoulous

  • Date
  • partager

Comme le peintre éponyme, Caillebotte capte bien la lumière avec ses grandes verrières, son bois blond et ses suspensions flottantes. Dans ce décor signé Camille Flammarion, les acolytes Franck Baranger et Édouard Bobin composent depuis neuf saisons une vibrionnante bistrote impressionniste. Démonstration l’autre midi, avec le menu à 38 € (également du soir), tout en à-plats et reliefs : évanescente bonite de Saint-Jean-de-Luz escalopée crue, escortée d’une demi-tomate à peine confite sur de la ricotta, le tout mis en orbite par un furtif bouillon végétal à l’huile d’estragon ; hulumerlu sauvage batifolant avec un coulis de poivrons rouges, de croquants grains de maïs frais et un onctueux beurre fumé ; avant une irrésistible crème cuite à la vanille, acoquinée à des grosses cerises noires et un yaourt glacé à la pistache, pour laquelle on bisserait volontiers. // Adrien Nouviaire

POUR LA SOIF ? Une cave académique : picpoul-de-pinet La Croix Gratiot (6 € le verre), maranges nature de Quentin-Jeannot (10 €), rosé provençal du Domaine de Navicelle (32 € la bouteille)…
LES PRIX : formule 19 € (midi en semaine), menu 38 € (midi et soir), carte 41-50 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.