restaurant

Soulenq

Restaurant Soulenq (Montpellier)

© Soulenq

  • Date
  • share

Along the Montpellier north highway, in a former garden center that’s been given a makeover (big patio windows, a wooden and tiled bar, a massive terrace with a wood-paneled deck), chef Arthur Lahmy, front-of-house manager Pierre Quatrefages (both of whom used to work at Anga), pastry chef Camille Rigal (ex-Ritz in Paris) and wine merchant François Touelle bring their take on bistronomy to their restaurant Soulenq – pronounced with a southern French accent. Served à la carte? Whole fish, big cuts of meat to be shared (pork chops the day we went), and plates that are each more beautiful than the last: incredible foie gras ravioli electrified by a duck and shiitake bouillon; a very retro poule au pot boiled chicken surrounded by carrots, leeks and potatoes, all glazed with salsa verde; perfect lamb pastilla served with a bowl of bulgur wheat, cauliflower and chervil; then a chocolate cream with hazelnut praline, topped with a graphically pleasing cloud of emulsified milk for dessert – yum! Several Thursdays a month, from June to September, Arthur throws whatever he has on hand onto the grill: suckling lamb, octopus, eggplant, sausages… // Antoine Antoine

FEELING THIRSTY? A local IPA from the Brasserie Le Détour (€6 for 330 ml), a few classic cocktails (gin & tonic, mojitos, etc., €10) and a very honorable southern wine list with something for every budget, from Large Soif, an Anjou blend from Terra Vita Vinum (€5 a glass) to Muntada, a Roussillon red from the Domaine Gauby (€90 a bottle).
PRICE: À la carte €36-48, shared cuts of meat €45-90, grilled meats €5-15 (several Thursdays a month from June to September).

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Soulenq

Restaurant Soulenq (Montpellier)

© Soulenq

  • Date
  • partager

Au bord d’une départementale du nord montpelliérain, dans une ancienne pépinière surlookée (grandes baies vitrées, bar boisé-enfaïencé, giga-terrasse en lattes de bois), le maître queux Arthur Lahmy, le chef de salle Pierre Quatrefages (tous deux passés par Anga), le pâtissier Camille Rigal (ex-Ritz) et le caviste François Touelle bistrotisent à leur guise à l’enseigne de Soulenq – à prononcer avec l’accent. À la carte ? Des poissons entiers, de grosses pièces de barbaque à partager (une côte de cochon ce jour-là), et des assiettes toutes aussi canon les unes que les autres : démente raviole de foie gras électrisée par un bouillon brun de canard et shitakés ; poule au pot bien rétro encerclée de carottes, poireaux et PDT, le tout lustré de salsa verde ; parfaite pastilla d’agneau servie avec un bol acoquinant boulgour, chou-fleur et cerfeuil ; puis crémeux au chocolat renfermant un praliné noisette, coiffé d’un graphique nuage de lait émulsionné – miam ! Plusieurs jeudis par mois de juin à septembre, Arthur passe au gril tout ce qu’il a sous la main : agneau de lait, poulpe, aubergine, saucisses… // Antoine Antoine

POUR LA SOIF ? Une IPA locale de la Brasserie Le Détour (6 € les 33 cl), quelques cocktails classiques (gin to’, mojito… 10 €) et une très honorable carte vinale sudiste pour tous les budgets, de l’assemblage angevin Large Soif signé Terra Vita Vinum (5 € le verre) au rouge roussillonnais Muntada 2017 du Domaine Gauby (90 € la bouteille).

LES PRIX : carte 36-48 €, pièces à partager 45-90 €, assiettes de grillades 5-15 € (plusieurs jeudis par mois de juin à septembre).

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.