restaurant

Sous les Pins

Restaurant Sous les Pins (Saint Paul de Vence)

© Thomas Audiffren

  • Date
  • share

Bottles are a quaking in Nice’s backcountry! Partners in grub Juliette Busetto, Pierre-Jean Arpurt and Samuel Victori, better known as the Agitateurs group, are now filling up bellies under the pines at the Fondation Maeght in Saint-Paul de Vence. At this sunny spot with its four immaculate glass walls, you can take over the terrace with chirping cicadas and Miró sculptures as your backdrop, while digging into the mouthwatering menu (homemade pâté en croûte, ciabatta with generous toppings, cookies…) or simply opting for the lunch set menu. More or less comfortably seated on the Giacometti chairs, we devoured all of the following the day we went for lunch: crispy zucchini blossom tempura; utterly simple eggs mimosa taken to the next level with the addition of anchovies; a tantalizing grilled octopus salad with marinated zucchini, potatoes and cucumber, plus parsley, shallots and spring onions; a volcanic shakshouka that combined stewed tomatoes and peppers with a beautifully runny egg, mint and cilantro; before a baroque Melba melon served with vanilla ice cream, whipped cream, raspberry coulis and crushed meringue. // Laëtitia Sayre

FEELING THIRSTY? Wines that are less impressive than the eats: a Burgundy white from Les Deux Roches (€8 a glass), a Var rosé from the Château Léoube (€35 a bottle), a local red from Le Clos Saint-Joseph (€47 a bottle)… 
PRICE: Dish of the day €18, set menus €24-32, snacks €4-16. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Sous les Pins

Où ouvrir grands les yeux et la bouche…

Restaurant Sous les Pins (Saint-Paul-de Vence)

© Thomas Audiffren

  • Date
  • partager

Tremblement de verres dans l’arrière-pays niçois ! Les partenaires de graille Juliette Busetto, Pierre-Jean Arpurt et Samuel Victori, plus connu·e·s comme la bande des Agitateurs, remplissent aussi désormais les panses sous les pins de la Fondation Maeght, à Saint-Paul-de-Vence. Un repaire solaire, quatre façades immaculées, devant lesquelles investir la terrasse avec bande-son cigales et sculptures de Miró en guise de vue muséale, et piocher dans la carte de lèche-doigts (pâté en croûte maison, ciabatta bien garnie, cookies…) ou carrément s’enfiler la formule déjeuner. Plus ou moins confortablement assis sur des chaises Giacometti, on s’enfila ce midi-là : de crousti-coquines fleurs de courgette en tempura ; de simplissimes œufs mimosa pimpés d’anchois ; un aguicheur tentacule de poulpe grillé ensaladé de courgettes marinées, PDT et concombre, avec persil, échalotes et cébettes ; une volcanique chakchouka associant tomates et poivrons compotés, œuf coulant à souhait, menthe et coriandre ; avant un baroque melon Melba à base de melon frais, cerné de vanille en glace et crème fouettée, coulis de framboise et meringue éclatée. La classe à Dallas ! // Laëtitia Sayre

POUR LA SOIF ? Des pinards moins folichons que les victuailles : blanc bourguignon des Deux Roches (8 € le verre), rosé varois du Château Léoube (35 € la quille), rouge local du Clos Saint-Joseph (47 € la bouteille)…

LES PRIX : plat du jour 18 €, formules et menu 24-32 €, grignotages 4-16 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.