restaurant

Thierry Schwartz

Restaurant Thierry Schwartz (Obernai)

© Vincent Muller

  • Date
  • share

In the colorful village of Obernai lies a secret natural reserve. Ever since 2002, Robuchon disciple Thierry Schwartz has been immersed in his Alsatian ecosystem, with its share of wooden rafters, ham legs and a winstub fireplace dating back to 1589. The cuisine consistently delights and sometimes even has a few surprises in store, like the day we went for lunch and ordered the “potager” menu. It kicked off with a shiso and raspberry oil infusion, an intense sweet-savory-smoked pork belly, porcini mushroom chips, caliente fire-roasted melon and Alsatian pastis, plus an incredible pepper with strawberry ketchup; before a sweet scoop of mustard ice cream with a lettuce velouté and redcurrant oil; watermelon branded by the fire, watermelon seeds preserved in oil, borage and fennel; puffy zucchini blossom with an onion and mushroom stuffing, all dressed in a deceiving vegetal jus with a depth of French saffron; pencil carrots cooked in the fireplace and paired with dried raspberries, veiled in a decadent carotene emulsion with butter, vin jaune and trout roe; white eggplant stripped back and prepared as a stew, with a veal and black garlic jus; and for dessert, the tomato becomes a fruit again as its candied in sugar and vanilla, paired with granita and meringue; before a final stroll through the orchard with an intense black apple ice cream. // Tsampa 

FEELING THIRSTY? : An immense natural wine cellar, composed over the course of twenty-plus years by chef and sommelier Cyril Kocher: Alsatian wines lead the pack, with Sentier Fleuri for example, a lightly smoky pinot noir from Flo and Nico Motz (€15 a glass), Schiste, an allobroge white from the Domaine des Ardoisières (€39 a bottle), or Rouge-Gorge 2002 (!), a Coteaux-du-Loir rubis from the Domaine de Bellivière (€80).  
PRICE: : Set menus €128 and €165. 

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Thierry Schwartz

Restaurant Thierry Schwartz (Obernai)

© Vincent Muller

  • Date
  • partager

Dans la colorée Obernai se cache une réserve naturelle. Depuis 2002 Thierry Schwartz, disciple de Robuchon, baigne dans son écosystème alsacien et les poutres, jambages et cheminée de sa stub de 1589. En cohérence, la cuisine sert le produit et surprend parfois, comme ce midi-là au menu potager. Qui amuse d’abord avec une infusion shiso-huile de framboise, intense poitrine de cochon salée-sucrée-fumée, chips de cèpe, caliente melon au chalumeau et pastis alsacien, dément poivron au ketchup de fraise ; avant une douceur de crème glacée à la moutarde, velouté de laitue et huile de groseille ; pastèque ferrée au feu, pépins en huile, bourrache et fenouil ; caressante courgette en fleur farcie oignon-champi, ses parures en trompeur jus végétal et profond safran d’ici ; carottes crayons cuites à la cheminée et framboises séchées, voilées d’une décadente émulsion de carotène au beurre, vin jaune et œufs de truite ; essentielle aubergine blanche comme un civet, jus de veau et ail noir ; en dessert, la tomate redevient fruit en gourmandise confite au sucre et vanille, granité, meringue ; et retour par le verger avec l’intense glace à la pomme noire. // Tsampa

POUR LA SOIF ? Juste une immense cave de vins nature, constituée en plus de vingt ans par le chef et le sommelier Cyril Kocher : Alsace en tête, avec le pinot noir légèrement fumé Sentier Fleuri de Flo et Nico Motz (15 € le verre), blanc allobroge Schiste du Domaine des Ardoisières (39 € la quille), coteaux-du-loir rubis Rouge-Gorge 2002 (!) du Domaine de Bellivière (80 €).

LES PRIX : Menus 128 et 165 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.