bar

Tazu

Tazu bar (Antwerp)

© Tazu

  • Date
  • share

An Antwerp antiques dealer, art collector, wabi-sabi-esque decorator, exhibition curator…. And then one fine day, Axel Vervoordst decided to take on cocktails! Down a 16th-century alley tucked away in the heart of the city, a secretive door leads insiders to Tazu’s den, a sublime mixo-maniac bar with timeworn walls, enigmatic volumes and intriguing objects. That’s where Julian Youssef (ex-Central Station in Beirut, probably one of the best mixologist clubs in the world) shakes up his sophisticated Japanese-inspired creations (€18): the Horio, named after the Japanese artist responsible for the artwork displayed on the walls, composed of sake, gin, yuzu and matcha, served in a simple coupe, or the umami-rich Spechless, made with tequila, porto, green Chartreuse, cucumber and oyster leaf… Sip them all peacefully with some (rather pricey) sushi or spirited small plates – tuna tataki with yuzu; wagyu with beetroot and black garlic purée; octopus with buttermilk mashed potatoes, paprika coulis and shiso oil; sake sabayon and matcha ice cream (tapas €15-20, plates €15-60). // Bobbi Rossi

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring « Belgium Underground » exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

bar

Tazu

Bar Tazu (Anvers)

© Tazu

  • Date
  • partager

Antiquaire anversois, collectionneur d’art, décorateur wabisabiesque, commissaire d’exposition… Et voilà qu’un beau jour, Axel Vervoordt s’est mis à faire des cocktails ! Dans une ruelle du XVIe siècle enfouie dans le cœur de la ville, une porte cachotière mène les initié·e·s dans l’antre de Tazu, sublime bar mixomaniaque aux murs patinés, volumes énigmatiques et objets intrigants. Où Julian Youssef (ex-Central Station à Beyrouth, probablement l’un des meilleurs clubs mixos du monde) secoue de sophistiquées créas japonisantes (18 €) : le Horio, du nom de l’artiste nippon qui a réalisé les œuvres aux murs, composé de saké, gin, yuzu et matcha, servi dans une sobre coupe, ou l’umamiesque Speechless, à base de tequila, porto, Chartreuse verte, concombre et feuille d’huître… À siroter paisiblement avec des sushis (plutôt pricés) et des tapassiettes pleines d’esprit – tataki de thon au yuzu ; wagyu, betterave et purée à l’ail noir ; poulpe, purée au babeurre, coulis de paprika et huile de shiso ; sabayon au saké et glace matcha… (tapas 15-20 €, assiettes 15-60 €). // Bobbi Rossi

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.