restaurant

3 Fonteinen

  • Date
  • share

Nostalgists of all kinds, you have arrived at your destination: at 3 Fonteinen, there’s more than just beer that’s being brewed – there’s all that history too! Or rather, the Debelder family’s, who have been in this gray stone building since 1953 ever since Gaston and Raymonde expanded the business here. And while Herman Teirlinck was reinventing Dutch-language literature from the rustic dining room, sons Guido and Armand, future founders of the gueuze brewery, were learning to assemble lambics. Fast-forward to 2023, and you’ll find Trees Vergels cooking in the kitchen, with back-up from her son Thomas Debelder. There’s no need to reinvent the wheel, especially when it spins so well: comforting homemade shrimp croquettes; a homely, syrupy gueuze stew with potato and baby vegetables; freshly-chopped steak tartare served with fritjes; endive gratin that taste like passing time and the modernity of things that do not change; and Brussels waffle to keep the little ones happy. // Sugar Kowalczyk

FEELING THIRSTY? Got any more silly questions? Rare Boon Apogée (€65 for 750 ml), Muscar-elle from Lambiek Fabriek (€26), or the memorable Schaerbeekse Kriek 2015 by 3 Fonteinen (€65).

PRICE: Starters €5.50 to €18, mains €22-33, kids’ menu €8.5 to €12, desserts €6-10.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The new Le Fooding France Guide is available!

Inside the latest edition, discover our top 400 restaurants, bars, wine cellars, shops and hotels from all over France that’ll be the talk of the town in 2024. Anything else? Our 16-strong list of award winners you’ll not find anywhere else, and nine articles which shine a light on the taste of the times!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

3 Fonteinen

  • Date
  • partager

Nostalgistes de tout bord, vous êtes arrivé·e·s à bon port : à 3 Fonteinen, on brasse plus que de la bière : de l’histoire ! Celle de la famille Debelder, accolée à celle de cette bâtisse en pierres grises depuis 1953 et l’emménagement de Gaston et Raymonde. Et tandis que dans la salle rustique, Herman Teirlinck réinventait la littérature néerlandophone, les fils Guido et Armand, futurs fondateurs de la gueuzerie, apprenaient à assembler les lambics. En 2023, c’est Trees Vergels qui chaudronne en cuisine, épaulée par son fils Thomas Debelder. Qui ne réinventent pas la roue, surtout quand elle tourne si bien : câlines croquettes aux crevettes maison ; sirupeuses carbonnades à la gueuze familiale avec PDT et petits légumes ; américain haché minute, escorté de ses fritjes ; chicons au gratin qui ont le goût du temps qui passe et la modernité des choses qui ne changent pas ; et gaufre de Bruxelles pour faire plaisir aux petits. // Sugar Kowalczyk

POUR LA SOIF ? Vous en avez d’autres, des questions comme ça ? Rare Boon Apogée (65 € les 75 cl), Muscar-elle de Lambiek Fabriek (26 €), ou encore mémorable Schaerbeekse Kriek 2015 par 3 Fonteinen (65 €).

LES PRIX : entrées 5,50 à 18 €, plats 22-33 €, plats enfants 8,5 à 12 €, desserts 6-10 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

Le guide Fooding 2024
est sorti !

Restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres : les 400 adresses qui vont faire 2024 partout en France sont à retrouver dans cette édition inédite. Avec ça ? Un palmarès de 16 spots pas-vus-partout, et 9 articles mag qui décortiquent l’imagerie de la food contemporaine.

Disponible en kiosque, dans toutes les (bonnes) librairies et sur notre e-shop.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.