restaurant

Atelier Renata

Atelier Renata (Marseille)

© Atelier Renata

  • Date
  • share

In these times of wild inflation, there’s a new Robin Food to the rescue, delighting the palates of the rich with the food of peasants… A self-proclaimed cucina povera spot that serves €55 set menus? Our pension plan was side-eyeing our appetite, that’s how excessive the oxymoron felt. Once you’ve made it past the granny smith apple green door and a handful of steps, the aromas wafting out from Atelier Renata (named after owner Erika Blu’s grandmother) nevertheless hinted at a great Italian dinner…. This self-taught Roman-Venetian chef who’s lived across Italy before setting up shop in Marseille (Jogging, Camas-Sutra) now serves sentimental food in this former artist studio that’s been made over into a cozy dining room with a Persian rug, jars of sauce on shelves, family photos, a range cooker and a grand piano – around which people gather to sing at the end of the night. The other evening, sent out to the lone communal table: a lovely revisited maritozzo with whipped burrata and stracciatella, topped with salt-cured anchovy; palourde clams stewed in a tomato broth that’ll have you licking the plate clean; clementine-marinated cime di rapa swirled among a delicate purple potato purée with scamorza, all sweetened by the addition of orange blossom; homemade cappelletti in thick chicken broth with bone marrow and Parmesan – or, for the vegetarians, a once-in-a-lifetime pasta dish – perfectly al dente tubettini cooked directly in the tomato sauce made from preserved summer tomatoes and topped with a few anchovies and capers, enlivened by a good twist of the (verbena) pepper mill; and to round out the meal, an excellent millefeuille prepared by the pastry chef Alessandra Natelia (ex-Pierre Hermé), who also works front-of-house. The king is dead, long live cucina povera! // Gwen Jacquère  

FEELING THIRSTY? A dozen natural, transalpine wines: Lautizio, a fruity red by the Umbrian winery Collecapretta (€7 a glass), Saignée, a deep rosé from the Sicilian winemaker Aldo Viola (€53 a bottle), Gagà, a briny Venetian white from Santa Colomba (€38), a Tridentine pet’ nat’ from La Cantina Furlani (€33)… 
PRICE: Set menu €55. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Atelier Renata

Simple comme bon four !

Atelier Renata (Marseille)

© Atelier Renata

  • Date
  • partager

En période inflationniste surgissent les Robin des Bouffes, flattant les palais des riches avec une cuisine du pauvre… Une adresse auto-labellisée cucina povera à 55 € le menu ? Notre PEL faisait les gros yeux à notre appétit, tant l’oxymore semblait gonflé. Passé la porte granny-smith et quelques marches, les effluves s’échappant de l’Atelier Renata (du nom de la grand-mère de la patronne, Erika Blu) laissaient néanmoins deviner un grand dîner italien… Autodidacte romano-vénitienne ayant roulé sa Botte à Marseille (Jogging, Camas-Sutra), la cheffe livre désormais sa food sentimentale dans cet ancien studio d’artiste relooké en salon-salle à manger avec tapis persan, bocaux de sauce, photos de famille, piano de cuisine et à queue – autour duquel pousser la chansonnette en fin de soirée. L’autre soir, en direct de la table d’hôte : épatant maritozzo revisité avec chantilly de burrata et stracciatella, coiffé d’un anchois au sel ; palourdes mijotées dans un bouillon tomaté à se taper le nez au fond du bol ; cime di rapa marinées à la clémentine et lovées dans une délicate purée de PDT violettes détendue à la scamorza, le tout adouci par de la fleur d’oranger ; cappelletti maison dans un épais bouillon de poule, d’os à moelle et de parmesan – ou, pour les pescétarien·ne·s, la pasta d’une vie – des tubettini parfaitement al dente, cuits directement dans la sauce de tomates préservées depuis l’été et surmontés de quelques anchois et câpres, le tout enfiévré d’un bon tour de poivre verveine ; et pour finir, un excellent millefeuille monté par la pâtissière Alessandra Natelia (ex-Pierre Hermé), qui officie aussi en salle. Le roi est mort, vive la cucina povera ! // Gwen Jacquère

POUR LA SOIF ? Une dizaine de crus nature transalpins : Lautizio sur les fruits rouges par le domaine ombrien Collecapretta (7 € le verre), rosé vineux Saignée du Sicilien Aldo Viola (53 € la bouteille), blanc vénitien salin Gagà signé Santa Colomba (38 €), pet’ nat’ tridentin de la Cantina Furlani (33 €)…

LES PRIX : menu unique 55 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.