restaurant

Choral

Restaurant Choral (Annecy)

© Alban Chassagne

  • Date
  • share

Is that the sound of the Annecy food scene making itself heard yet again? In a previously peaceful street in the Romains neighborhood, Choral strikes a chord under the baton of Alban Chanteloup (ex-Clos des Sens), accompanied by Aymeric Velluz (ex-Auberge du Père Bise), who also knows the score like the back of his hand. The decor? Pared-back, with around ten light wood tables surrounded by terrazzo (on the floor) and concrete (on the walls), and large windows overlooking the tree-lined street. The music played in two movements that lunchtime: radiant seared tomatoes draped in shisho (red and green) and seasoned with bread praline, all bathed in a tasty tomato jus; followed by tender line-caught tuna with New Zealand spinach, lemon juice and plump capers. We slightly regret not having dessert, roasted plums, plum ice cream and shiso or chocolate tart with a tempting ganache. In the evening, it’s free jazz in four or six steps with sesame, sorrel, chervil and sheep’s yogurt among the headliners. For such an ensemble, any old sound system won’t do… fear not, the Tannoy Autograph speakers are more than up to the job. // Sofia Setif

FEELING THIRSTY? A cutting-edge playlist of natural winegrowers: Houillon, Apffel, Dard & Ribo, Bastian… as food and wine pairings at €24 or €38 (4-6 glasses), or simply by the glass (€8-12). Unless you prefer a beer from the Brasserie du Mont Salève (€7 for 330 ml) or a homemade kombucha (€5).

PRICE: Set menus €29-35 (lunch), dinner menus €44-60 (4-6 courses).

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Choral

Un néobistrot qui tourne à plein tube !

Restaurant Choral (Annecy)

© Alban Chassagne

  • Date
  • partager

Qu’entend-on, la scène annécienne qui donnerait à nouveau de la voix ? Dans une rue jusqu’alors paisible du quartier des Romains, Choral fait vibrer les cordes sensibles sous la coupe du chef d’orchestre Alban Chanteloup (ex-Clos des Sens), bien accompagné par Aymeric Velluz (ex-Auberge du Père Bise), qui connaît lui aussi sa partition sur le bout du tire-bouchon. Le décor ? Épuré, soit une dizaine de tables en bois clair cernées de terrazzo (au sol) et béton (aux murs), et de larges fenêtres donnant sur la rue arborée. La musique, en deux mouvements ce midi-là : de radieuses tomates snackées drapées de shiso (rouge et vert) et relevées d’un praliné de pain, baignant dans un bon jus de tomate ; suivies d’un fondant thon de ligne avec tétragone, jus citronné et grosses câpres. On regrette un peu de ne pas avoir pris de dessert, des prunes rôties, glace au même fruit et shiso, ou une tarte tout choco à l’aguichante ganache… Le soir, c’est free jazz en quatre ou six temps avec sésame, oseille, cerfeuil et yaourt de brebis parmi les têtes d’affiche. Pour un tel programme, pas question de mettre n’importe quoi dans ses oreilles : le son est cuisiné par des enceintes Tannoy Autograph. // Sofia Sétif

POUR LA SOIF ? Une playlist pointue de vigneron·ne·s nat’ : Houillon, Apffel, Dard et Ribo, Bastian… en accord mets et vins à 24 ou 38 € (4-6 verres), ou au godet (8-12 €). À moins de préférer une mousse de la Brasserie du Mont Salève (7 € les 33 cl) ou un kombucha maison (5 €).

LES PRIX : menus 29-35 € (midi), 44 et 60 € (soir).

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.