restaurant

JJII

Chez JJII (Paris)

© JJII

  • Date
  • share

Nothing is wasted, everything is eaten…. Talented chef Hur Jay Wood (the former sous-chef at Brasserie Thoumieux) knows this idiom well, and he didn’t waste any time taking over the reins of Katsu Okiyama’s former Japanese-inspired restaurant Abri. Comfortably installed behind the kitchen bar of this tiny restaurant (rough stone walls, timeworn hardwood floors, school furniture), the Korean chef stitches together dishes that live up to his illustrious predecessor’s reputation. The proof came in the form of a five-course tasting menu the night we went: a warm oyster swimming in some addictive homemade ponzu sauce; an incredibly light cuttlefish and white asparagus tempura duo, served with an umami-rich pecorino-miso dipping sauce; marvelous flame-charred umbrina cooked under the broiler, even better with the sea beans and pickled mussels served alongside it; heavenly flash-seared veal sweetbreads, paired with fairy ring mushrooms and potatoes slow-cooked in jus de viande; before a sacred union between dark chocolate mousse and yuzu mousse, which had us practically licking the bowl clean… // Alain Cop

FEELING THIRSTY? : A barrage of artifice-free natural wines (a Montlouis-sur-Loire produced by Lise and Bertrand Jousset at €11 a glass, a Côtes-du-Rhône from La Réméjeanne at €35 a bottle) and a yuzu infusion before the final curtain.
PRICE: : Set tasting menu €56.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

JJII

Des assiettes jjiigantesques !

Chez JJII (Paris)

© JJII

  • Date
  • partager

Rien ne se perd, tout se consomme, comme dirait le scientikif… Une règle bien digérée par la fine lame Hur Jay Wook, ancien second à la Brasserie Thoumieux, qui n’a pas tardé à prendre les rênes de l’ancien Abri japonisant de Katsu Okiyama. Désormais bien installé derrière le comptoir-cuisine de ce resto de poche (murs de pierres brutes, parquet patiné, mobilier d’école), le chef coréen tricote des assiettes que ne renierait pas son illustre prédécesseur… La preuve par cinq ce soir-là : huître chaude barbotant dans une addictive sauce ponzu maison ; duo de seiche et asperge blanche en tempura toute légère, à plonger dans une sauce pecorino-miso umamiam ; merveille de filet d’ombrine chalumé puis passé à la salamandre, encore meilleur avec des salicornes et pickles de moules ; providentiel ris de veau snacké, escorté de mousserons et pommes de terres confites au jus de viande ; avant l’union sacrée d’une mousse au chocolat noir et d’une mousse au yuzu, terminée en se tapant le nez dans le bol… // Alain Cop

POUR LA SOIF ? Une canonnade de vins naturels sans artifice (montlouis-sur-loire de Lise et Bertrand Jousset à 11 € le verre, côtes-du-rhône de La Réméjeanne à 35 € la bouteille) et une infusion au yuzu avant de tirer le rideau.

LES PRIX : menu unique 56 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.