restaurant

Magma

Restaurant Magma (Paris)

© Alexandre Zhu

  • Date
  • share

Magma mia! Things are bubbling away around Oberkampf, where this sleek new restaurant (patterned tiling, olive green banquettes, atmospheric light fixtures) sends out fiery yet delicate dishes. After warming up at some impressive establishments, Lucie Paulhan (ex-La Traversée and Le Maquis) and chef Ryuya Ono (ex-Maison and L’Attache) are now bringing this ardent restaurant to life. Served à la carte the night we went: smoked/charred potatoes and trout roe tucked into a haddock velouté; an incredible eruption of Albacore tuna sashimi with paper-thin slices of cucumber, yellow peach and smoked stracciatella; classic salmon topped with a tomato-rich fumet; suckling pig shoulder served with a volcanic clam jus – so good that we wiped our plate clean with the bread specially made by Fermentation Générale… There were no post-volcanic earthquakes over dessert with the chocolate-coffee marquise, but you are at risk of heatstroke from the wonderful homemade meringue ice cream. The mood at lunchtime is just as promising as at dinner: tomato salad, Battaglione cucumber and raw cream; mi-cuit salmon, Borlotti beans and charred eggplant; matcha, pine or cilantro ice cream for dessert… // Henriette Ma

FEELING THIRSTY? A few natural labels get the job done right: a Sylvaner orange wine produced by Philippe Brand (€8 a glass), a German white by the Brand Brothers (€34 a bottle), an Aveyron red blend from Les Chemins de l’Arkose (€30)… 
PRICE: Set menus €27-30 (weekday lunch), à la carte €41-64 (dinner), tasting menu €55 (six courses, lunch) and €70 (seven courses, dinner). 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Magma

Où s’embraser à pleine bouche

Restaurant Magma (Paris)

© Alexandre Zhu

  • Date
  • partager

Magma mia ! Ça bouillonne à un jet de lave d’Oberkampf, où un resto bien léché (carrelage à motif, banquette olive, appliques atmosphériques) balance des assiettes à la sensibilité ardente. Après s’être échauffés dans des adresses de haut vol, Lucie Paulhan (ex-La Traversée et Le Maquis) et son acolyte de chef Ryuya Ono (ex-Maison et L’Attache) ambiancent désormais cette table tout-feu-tout-flamme. À la carte, ce soir-là : PDT fumées-brûlées et œufs de truites câlinés par un velouté de haddock ; terrible éruption de thon blanc sashimisé, lamelles de concombre, pêche jaune et stracciatella en fumaison ; classieux collier de saumon chaperonné par un fumet tomaté ; épaule de porcelet emmitouflée dans une crousti-couette et flanquée d’un volcanique jus de coques – à saucer jusqu’à plus faim avec les miches sur mesure de Fermentation Générale… Pas de séisme pour la marquise choco-café, mais de quoi prendre un sérieux coup de chaud grâce à la glace meringue maison. Le mood du déj’, lui, promet autant que les assiettes du soir : salade de tomate, concombre Battaglione et crème crue ; saumon mi-cuit, haricots Borlotti et aubergine brûlée ; glace matcha, sapin ou coriandre… // Henriette Ma

POUR LA SOIF ? Quelques étiquettes nature qui font le taf : macé’ de sylvaner par Philippe Brand (8 € le verre), blanc allemand signé Brand Brothers (34 € la quille), assemblage rouge aveyronnais des Chemins de l’Arkose (30 €)…

LES PRIX : formules et menu 27-30 € (midi en semaine), carte 41-64 € (soir), menus dégustation 55 € (6 temps, midi) et 70 € (7 temps, soir).

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.