restaurant

Yuri.m

© Yuri.m

© Studio Memories For Life

  • Date
  • share

Less than a year after orchestrating the latest culinary score for L’Amateur de Thés, the virtuoso chef Yuri Massines (winner of Le Fooding’s Best Chef of 2014 award) is back, twirling her chopsticks at Yuri.m. Discreetly tucked away in the Ateliers Hybride in Pau, the chef has designed a striking €25 lunch menu, which we devoured the day we went: delicious vegetables from the Bastelica family in Verlus (broccoli, radish, Brussels sprouts and butternut à l’orange), nestled amongst a miso-sunchoke purée doused in a persimmon sauce; sensational line-caught grilled bass from Saint-Jean-de-Luz paired with a mixture of hot and cold sensations from grated celeriac and puréed celeriac, sunchoke chips, purple shiso, pickled red onions and a ponzu vinaigrette, plus bass cheeks with sunchokes – served as a purée once again, but with jasmine this time to change things up; and an unforgettable suckling veal from the Taillefer butcher shop, served medium rare with white rice, new potatoes, miso butternut squash, sautéed scallions and fried gras-double tripe, all electrified by yuzu mustard. The outro? An incredible revisited lemon tart, with a pecan shortbread, rice pudding cream, sweet Meyer lemon and a mango meringue, tickled by white chocolate, matcha and dulce de leche. A sweet melody of contentment will wash over you with each bite. // Gérard Roubeix

FEELING THIRSTY? Natural wines at reasonable prices: a Sancerre white produced by the Domaine Thomas (€5 a glass), a Bergerac rosé from Le Pré Vert (€18 a bottle), a Montalbanais red produced by Muriel Zoldan (€20)… Along with sake (€5-6 for 50 ml) and twenty-some Chinese and Japanese teas (€4-7).
PRICE: Lunch menu €25. French-Japanese pastries €2-4, take-away bento boxes €18.

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Yuri.m

La boss de faim du menu déj'

© Yuri.m

© Studio Memories For Life

  • Date
  • partager

Moins d’une année après avoir orchestré la dernière partition de L’Amateur de Thés, la virtuose Yuri Massines (sacrée Meilleure cuisinière du Guide 2014) revient jouer des baguettes à l’enseigne de Yuri.m. Nichée dans les Ateliers Hybride de Pau, la cheffe y signe un épatant menu déj’ à 25 €, bécoté la bouche en c(h)œur ce midi-là : succulents légumes de la famille Bastelica à Verlus (brocolis, radis, choux de Bruxelles et butternut à l’orange), lovés dans une purée de topinambour au miso et mouillés de sauce au kaki ; sensass filet de bar de ligne de Saint-Jean-de-Luz grillé, chaud-froid de céleri-rave râpé et en purée, chips de topinambour, shiso pourpre, pickles d’oignon rouge et vinaigrette au ponzu, servis avec une joue de bar tapissée de topinambour – toujours en purée, mais au jasmin pour changer ; et inoubliable noix de veau sous la mère du boucher Taillefer, juste rosée, accompagnée de riz blanc, PDT grenaille, butternut au miso, escanouille sautéee et gras-double, le tout électrisé par une moutarde au yuzu. L’outro ? Une mortelle tarte citron revisitée, de bas en haut : sablé aux noix de pécan, crème de riz au lait, douceur de citron Meyer et meringue à la mangue, cajolée de chocolat blanc au matcha et confiture de lait. Une certaine idée de la mélodie du bonheur. // Gérard Roubeix

POUR LA SOIF ? Des jus naturels à prix tout doux : blanc sancerrois du Domaine Thomas (5 € le verre), rosé bergeracois du Pré Vert (18 € la quille), rouge montalbanais signé Muriel Zoldan (20 €)… Mais aussi des sakés (5-6 € les 5 cl) et une vingtaine de thés chinois et japonais (4-7 €).

LES PRIX : menu déj’ 25 €. Pâtisseries franco-japonaises 2-4 €, bento à emporter 18 €.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.