bar

Cravan

Cravan (Paris)

  • Date
  • share

Faithful to its source of inspiration – Arthur Cravan (the poet and boxer who was also Oscar Wilde’s nephew and a precursor to the dada movement) – this unclassifiable comet uppercuts the bistro-logical sky of Paris’s 16th arrondissement. Behind a façade designed by Hector Guimard, there’s an old zinc-topped bar and timeworn mirrors that encourage criminality and anarchically revive an American cocktail bar vibe. The guilty party? Owner Franck Audoux, a late-in-life mixologist formerly of Le Chateaubriand, who plays a radical cocktail score (€12 each): a bitter Yellow combining gin, Suze and yellow Chartreuse; a glamorous Trocadero with Picon, Dolin vermouth and curaçao; a subtle kir royal with basil flower liqueur… And don’t forget about the impeccable finger food: crab taramasalata from Barthouil (€10); exquisite finger sandwiches made on Japanese sliced bread (€12); outstanding lobster rolls (€26, except on Monday nights)… And since four good things are better than one, Cravan is also open in the morning, serving yogurt with granola and fresh fruit (€10), and Hexagone coffee concocted by the barista Youssef Li (ex-Fragments); open at lunch – buttery croque-madame sandwiches (€13); César salads (€12), light Eton mess desserts (€8); and even on the weekend, for the Sunday roast. We went on a Saturday for the leg of lamb that had us weak in the knees, served with plenty of jus and outstanding sides: roasted potatoes, broccoli, spinach, homemade mustard and a classic Yorkshire pudding (€56 for two!) // C.C.

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

bar

Cravan

Cravan (Paris)

  • Date
  • partager

Fidèle à son inspirateur, le poète et boxeur Arthur Cravan (neveu d’Oscar Wilde et précurseur du mouvement dada), cette inclassable comète punche le ciel bistrologique du 16e arrondissement. Derrière une façade signée Hector Guimard, un vieux zinc et des miroirs patinés poussent au crime en renouant avec l’esprit anar des bars à drinks américains. Le coupable ? Le taulier Franck Audoux, mixologue sur le tard, ancien du Chateaubriand, qui joue une partition radicale de cocktails : amer-à-boire Yellow mixant gin, Suze et Chartreuse jaune (15 €), vitaminé Mad Collins liant gin, gingembre et citron (12 €), subtil Kir royal à la liqueur de fleur de basilic (12 €)… Sans oublier, en accompagnements esthètes, d’impeccables lèche-doigts : tamago dans dashi maison (8 €), asperges blanches des Landes à la bresaola de thon (14 €) ou couteaux relevés à la salsa verde (15 €)… Et comme quatre bonnes nouvelles valent mieux qu’une, Cravan accueille aussi le matin, avec granola-yaourt-fruits (10 €) et café Hexagone (concocté par le barista Youssef Li, ex-Fragments), mais également le midi (œufs du matin avec pôelée de champignons et de pecorino à 15 €) et même le week-end pour le « Week-end roast » : ce samedi-là, un gigot d’agneau Allaiton d’Aveyron à tomber, servi dans son jus avec de super sides – légumes rôtis snackés et Yorkshire pudding d’anthologie (32 €) à marier à un Bloody Mary (12 €) ! C.C

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide papier et numérique des restaurants, chef·fe·s, bars, chambres d’hôte et hôtels de style qui font le « goût de l’époque », un palmarès annuel des nouvelles adresses partout en France, un outil de réservation de super bistrots, des événements gastronomiques, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus… Tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.