restaurant

Astrance

Restaurant l'Astrance (Paris)

© l'Astrance

  • Date
  • share

After a three-year eclipse, the legendary restaurant from Pascal Barbot, the Sun King who’s more enlightened than the French despot, and Christophe Rohat, the minister of telepathic services, is finally back, reincarnated in the comfort of a bigger space (the former Jamin, which used to be the domain of Robuchon). If the ornate metal decor with shades of beige doesn’t much impress the 16th arrondissement, the first bites of the divine lunch menu certainly will (you can either order the set menu, or à la carte!): raw scallops in their shells, with crisp cabbage, a warm oyster dancing with bone marrow and black kombu butter, like a work by Soulages; gracefully fatty toothfish fillet (from the southern seas), with opal-white flesh and golden scales, proudly tucked up against some tender Koshihikari rice seasoned with citrus zest, radish and beurre blanc sauce; stunning suckling pork belly and stratospheric lentils and chorizo; a trou normand capturing the fire of hot chilies under a snowfall of ginger and lemongrass; before the masterful finale, a creamy almond shortbread topped with Comice pear, arm in arm with a sorbet made from the same fruit. At the end of the meal, a low bow to the chef feels in order… // Renaud Fuego

FEELING THIRSTY? High-born bottles with rather steep price tags: Quatre Mains, a Touraine white from La Grange Tiphaine (€19 a glass), Les Poyeux, a Saumur-Champigny produced by the Domaine des Sables Verts (€23), Melon à Queue Rouge, a Jura white produced by Philippe Chatillon (€115 a bottle)… 
PRICE: Set menus €120-285 (lunch), €285 (dinner), à la carte €190-300. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Astrance

Le Seigneur des fourneaux : le Retour du roi

Restaurant l'Astrance (Paris)

© Anne-Emmanuelle Thion

  • Date
  • partager

Trois ans d’éclipse et voilà l’enseigne mythique de Pascal Barbot, Roi-Soleil plus éclairé que despote, et Christophe Rohat, ministre du service télépathique, réincarnée dans le confort d’un palais augmenté – l’ancien Jamin, jadis l’antre de Robuchon. Si la déco en métal ouvragé et nuances de beige ne défrise pas les choucroutes du 16e, les permanentes prennent cher dès la première bouchée d’un divin menu déjeuner piochant avec classe dans la carte (oui, il y a une carte !) : saint-jacques crue en coquille canonisable, cueillie par un chou presque croquant, une huître tiède dansant avec de la moelle et du beurre de kombu noir comme un Soulages ; filet de légine (poisson austral) gracieusement gras, opalin dedans, doré par ses sucs dehors, trônant aux côtés d’un tendre riz Koshihikari zesté d’agrumes, de radis et de beurre blanc ; éblouissante poitrine de cochon de lait en strates tectoniques et lentilles au chorizo stratosphériques ; trou paranormand capturant le feu du piment sous un givre gingembre-citronnelle ; avant, en finale magistral, un sablé crémé d’amandes et couronné de poire Comice, bras dessus bras dessous avec un sorbet du même fruit. Tenez, on en ferait même une courbette… // Renaud Fuego

POUR LA SOIF ? Des flacons bien nés pour une note plutôt salée : touraine blanc Quatre Mains de La Grange Tiphaine (19 € le verre), saumur-champigny Les Poyeux par le Domaine des Sables Verts (23 €), blanc jurassien Melon à Queue Rouge signé Philippe Chatillon (115 € la bouteille)…

LES PRIX : menus 120-285 € (midi), 285 € (soir), carte 190-300 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.