restaurant

Freya

Des légumes en odeur de sainteté

Restaurant Freya (Biarritz)

© Freya

  • Date
  • share

After completing his culinary communion under the holy trinity of Bras-Goujon-Troisgros and preaching the gospel of fine cuisine from the US to Australia, Guillaume Chatillon set up his pulpit (with his knives and saucepans in tow) on the Biarritz coast. His diocese? A tiny bistro with Brotherwood tables, Alki chairs, a Pita chandelier and ceramic tableware made by María Urroz, where the local plant life evangelizes the seven-course carte blanche tasting menu. The best passages, served by his partner and associate Margot (who used to work at Aureole in New York) the day we went? An admirable slow-cooked egg smothered in an egg cream seasoned with piment d’Espelette and lemon, with pickled shallots, common ice plant, tonburi (Japanese “land caviar”) and sea samphire oil – which you can scoop up with long, thin pieces of toasted bread topped with grated cured egg, pickled onions and more sea samphire; a massive cauliflower triptych (served roasted in sea urchin and shiso butter, as crisp slivers dressed in vinaigrette, and as a purée whipped with hazelnut oil, shaved almonds and chive oil); and some delicate salsify slow-roasted in licorice and benedict syrup, topped with a white chocolate crumble, salsify chips and a honey / licorice / benedict ice cream. Still hungry? People sing the praises of their Sunday brunch! // Loulou Pic  

FEELING THIRSTY? : A wine list that’s primarily focused on natural wines, put together by the Retour Verre le Future and L’Artnoa wine shops: a Bergerac blanc from Barbouillet (€7 a glass), a Provence rosé from the Domaine Kennel (€32 a bottle), Garde la Pêche, a skin-contact wine from François Ducrot (€36)… 
PRICE: : Set menu €55 (dinner), brunch €28 (Sunday). 

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Freya

Des légumes en odeur de sainteté

Restaurant Freya (Biarritz)

© Freya

  • Date
  • partager

Après avoir fait son catéchisme culinaire auprès de la trinité Bras-Goujon-Troisgros et prêché la bonne casserole des États-Unis à l’Australie, Guillaume Chatillon a posé sa chaire et sa bonne chère sur la côte biarrote. Son diocèse ? Un bistrot de poche aux tables Brotherwood, aux chaises Alki, au lustre Pita et à la vaisselle en céramique signée María Urroz, où le végétal local évangélise un menu carte blanche en sept temps. Les meilleurs morceaux, servis par sa compagne et associée Margot (passée par Aureole à New York) : admirable œuf confit noyé dans une crème d’œuf au piment d’Espelette et citron, avec pickles d’échalote, ficoïde glaciale, tonburi (« caviar de terre » japonais) et huile de criste marine – à touiller avec des mouillettes bien croustillantes parées d’œuf séché râpé, de pickles d’oignon et de criste marine itou ; maous triptyque de chou-fleur, rôti au beurre d’oursin infusé au shiso, en copeaux croquants à la vinaigrette, et en purée montée à l’huile de noisette, aux amandes râpées et à l’huile de ciboulette ; et délice de salsifis confits au sirop de réglisse et benoîte, toppés de crumble au chocolat blanc, chips de salsifis et glace miel / réglisse / benoîte. Encore faim ? Le dimanche, on chante les louanges du brunch ! // Loulou Pic

POUR LA SOIF ? Une carte vineuse tendance nature, écrite par les caves Retour verre le futur et L’Artnoa : bergerac blanc Bergeracrac de Barouillet (7 € le verre), rosé provençal du Domaine Kennel (32 € la quille), macération Garde la Pêche de François Ducrot (36 €)…

LES PRIX : menu en 4 services à 40 € et 6 services à 55 € (soir), brunch 28 € (dimanche)

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie « Belgium Underground » qui explore les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.