restaurant

Octave

Restaurant Octave (Guainville)

© Philippe Vaurès Santamaria

  • Date
  • share

Castle life really suits chef Romain Meder! After a stint at the five-star Hôtel Plaza Athénée under the reign of Alain Ducasse, he’s now the sole master (chef) at the Domaine de Primard, the former home of Catherine Deneuve that was taken over by serial renovators Frédéric Biousse and Guillaume Foucher (Domaine de Fontenille, Les Hautes Mers, Les Hortensias du Lac…). At the bistronomic restaurant of this glam hotel surrounded by rose bushes and deckchairs, in a dining room dotted with dried flowers and equipped with a gigantic rotisserie, the chef sent out all of the following the day we went for lunch: a flamboyant sausage duly cooked over the embers and paired with some luscious toum, which is a Lebanese version of aioli; an XL zucchini stuffed with its spiced pulp and roasted to perfection, arm in arm with a zucchini carpaccio (made with yellow zucchini this time around) and charred fig leaves; before a stylishly rustic dessert by Iris Fumey (Ducas-trained as well), which consisted of a bowl of plump cherries, fennel confit and a farm-fresh fromage blanc ice cream. Ave Octave, we salute you! // Thomas Jossin 

FEELING THIRSTY? High-end labels and natural grand cru wines: a Chinon red produced by the Bretons (€12 a glass), a Chenin by Chidaine (€80 a bottle), unless you decide to splurge on a 2021 Cheval Blanc for the modest sum of… €1,680. 
PRICE: Set menus €28-38 (weekday lunch), à la carte €56-74. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Octave

Restaurant Octave (Guainville)

© Philippe Vaurès Santamaria

  • Date
  • partager

La vie de château va si bien au chef Romain Meder ! Qui, après avoir tâté du palace au Plaza Athénée sous le règne d’Alain Ducasse, est désormais seul maître (queux) au Domaine de Primard, ancienne demeure de Catherine Deneuve reprisée par les lifteurs de bâtisses Frédéric Biousse et Guillaume Foucher (Domaine de Fontenille, Les Hautes Mers, Les Hortensias du Lac…). À la table bistrotteuse de cet hôtel glam bordé de rosiers et transats, dans une salle piquée de fleurs séchées avec giga-rôtissoire en sus, le cuisinier envoya ce midi-là : une flamboyante saucisse dopée à la cueillette du moment, dûment cuite à la braise et accompagnée d’un lubrique toum – aïoli à la libanaise ; une courgette XL farcie de pulpe du même légume aux épices et rôtie façon laser, bras dessus bras dessous avec un carpaccio de courgettes (jaunes cette fois) aux feuilles de figuier brûlées ; avant, en dessert rustico-stylé signé Iris Fumey (ducassienne elle aussi), un bol de cerises charnues, fenouil confit et glace au fromage blanc fermier. Ave Octave, ceux qui se sont délectés te saluent ! // Thomas Jossin

POUR LA SOIF ? Des étiquettes haut de gamme et grands crus nature : chinon rouge des Breton (12 € le verre), chenin signé Chidaine (80 € la bouteille), à moins de craquer pour un Cheval Blanc 2021 à… 1 680 €.

LES PRIX : formules et menu 28-38 € (midi en semaine), carte 56-74 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.