restaurant

Regain

Le meilleur troquet de l'année ?

Restaurant Regain (Marseille)

© Juliette Mallat

  • Date
  • share

Renewed hope for the Saint-Pierre neighborhood comes in the form of this lively café run by friends Sarah Chougnet-Strudel and Lucien Salomon. This cheeky bistro/bar boasts pine green walls, a zinc-topped chestnut wood bar and a tree-lined courtyard that’s open when the weather’s nice. What’s more, the latter (ex-Greenhouse and Antidote in London) sends out impressive plates that will make you want to tip generously. And the lunch menu the day we went was a fine demonstration of their combined talent: plump brioche French toast under a thick layer of Mornay sauce and flame-charred Mimolette cheese, topped with pomegranate seeds, jus de viande and a warming spice mix; incredible grilled pork belly with beets and a briny mussel cream – or glazed cauliflower snuggled up against polenta and mole sauce, plus grated sheep’s milk tomme cheese on top; before a baba au whiskey with a pinecone-infused syrup, squash cream and vinegary butternut squash chunks. And for lovers of all things tart, there’s a damn delicious citrus tartlet for dessert! // Juliette Mallat

FEELING THIRSTY? Outstanding wines at affordable prices: a Loire white from La Paonnerie (€5 a glass), Alsatian sparkling wine with fine bubbles from the Goepp brothers (€26 a bottle), a Gamay from Robin Goutallier (€23)
PRICE: Menu €25 (lunch), à la carte €30-42.

 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Regain

Le meilleur troquet de l'année ?

Restaurant Regain (Marseille)

© Juliette Mallat

  • Date
  • partager

Regain d’espoir kiffatoire au Camas, avec le super repaire des copains Sarah Chougnet-Strudel (aux fourneaux) et Lucien Salomon (aux goulots). Un coquet bistroquet exhibant des murs vert sapin, un comptoir en bois de châtaignier zingué et une cour arborée ouverte aux beaux jours, où la cheffe (ex-Greenhouse et Antidote à Londres) envoie des assiettes fortiches qui donnent envie de balancer des pourliches. Démo avec le menu déj’ : dodue brioche perdue sous une couette de sauce Mornay et mimolette grillée au chalumeau, pluie de graines de grenade, jus de viande et mélange d’épices qui donnent chaud ; zinzin poitrine de cochon grillée, betteraves et crème de moules bien iodée – ou chou-fleur laqué cajolé de polenta et sauce mole, avec tomme de brebis râpée au sommet ; avant un baba au whisky et sirop infusé aux cônes de sapin, crémeux de courge et butternut vinaigré. Et pour les amateur·rice·s de came sous acide, la tartelette aux agrumes est à se damner ! // Juliette Mallat

POUR LA SOIF ? Des vins qui claquent à prix copain : blanc ligérien de La Paonnerie (5 € le verre), fines bulles alsaciennes des frangins Goepp (26 € la bouteille), gamay de Robin Goutallier (23 €)…

LES PRIX : menu 25 € (midi), carte 30-42 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.