restaurant

Les Pères Populaires

Les Pères Populaires (Paris)

  • Date
  • share

For the past 13 years, Greg Back (the owner of La Vierge) has been drawing in the locals to Les Pères Pop’, a dilapidated spot with leather armchairs worn down to the bone, French school chairs, a vintage radio and TV. You can drink there until two in the morning or make the most of the prix-fixe lunch menu for 17 bucks, especially since Matt Robertson (ex-Auberge de Chassignoles and Le Garde-Champêtre, and currently the chef of La Vierge) has thrown his grain of salt into the kitchen. The day we went for lunch: a generous burrata scooped up with a loaf from Ten Belles Bread; very fresh mullet served with roasted tomato and butter beans; before an orgasmic chocolate and salted caramel tart, prepared by the house pastry chef Isabelle Auzou. At night, it’s all about tapas, baby: Bayonne ham, Kalamata olives, chicharrónes, Comté cake… // J.R.

FEELING THIRSTY? Boxed wines (a natural Tarn Mauzac from Laurent Cazottes at €2.40 a glass, a red from the Cave de Saint-Chinian at €2.70…), organic lager from Craig Allan (€6 for 330 ml) or a Deck and Donohue beer on tap (€2.90 for a half-pint).

PRICE: Menu €13.50 to €17 (lunch), tapas €2-9 (dinner).

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Les Pères Populaires

Les Pères Populaires (Paris)

  • Date
  • partager

Treize ans déjà que Greg Back (taulier de La Vierge) réunit tout le tiéquar aux Pères Pop’, rade déglingue avec fauteuils en cuir usés jusqu’à la corde, chaises d’école, téloche et radio vintage. Où prendre un verre jusqu’à 2 du mat’ et profiter du menu déj’ à 17 balles, surtout depuis que Matt Robertson (ex-Auberge de Chassignolles et Le Garde-Champêtre, et actuel chef de La Vierge) a mis son grain de sel en cuisine. Ce midi-là : une généreuse burrata à boulotter avec une miche de pain de chez Ten Belles Bread ; du mulet très frais accompagné d’une tomate rôtie et de haricots beurre ; avant une orgasmique tarte au choco et caramel à la fleur de sel, signée par la pâtissière maison Isabelle Auzou. Le soir, ça tapasse sec : jambon de Bayonne, olives de Kalamata, chicharrones, cake au comté… // J.R.

POUR LA SOIF ? Des pifs en cubi (mauzac tarnais nature de Laurent Cazottes à 2,40 € le verre, rouge de la Cave de Saint-Chinian à 2,70 €…), une mousse blonde bio de Craig Allan (6 € les 33 cl) ou une pression Deck and Donohue (2,90€ le demi).

LES PRIX : Menu 13,50 à 17 € (midi), tapas 2-9 € (soir).

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.