restaurant

Sauvage

  • Date
  • share

After doing his time amongst the big guns (Robuchon, Piège), Loïc Petri returned home in 2019 to his native southern France to bring this dinnertime restaurant to life, which only has room for nine guests at a time! In a space that combines waxed concrete floors and teal banquettes with globe light fixtures, Lolo cajoles the appetites of Aix’s elite and well-informed tourists with his tantalizing seven- or ten-course menu. The night we went, we opted for the “small menu,” which included: tourteau crab decorated with parsley cream, pickled carrots and a magical small green crab jus; a chimera of foie gras marinated in verjus and paired with a poached oyster, all served in a rich black pepper beef bouillon; salt-baked beetroot transformed into ribbons and topped with a thin slice of smoked eel, all intensified by a spicy horseradish cream; pearly red mullet fillets wrapped in lardo di Colonnata, with peas, artichokes, tarragon and a sobrasada jus; crispy yet tender breaded veal sweetbreads topped with thinly sliced flame-charred calamari, a fermented milk emulsion and citric cow’s milk yogurt; Pyrenees sucking lamb prepared two ways – perfectly cooked saddle in a lamb reduction with a punchy preserved lemon condiment, plus harissa and sweet peppers, and meatballs charred over binchotan charcoal, in a transparent ras el-hanout bouillon… Incredible! For the dessert, place your trust in Dominique, Loïc’s mom: delicate pistachio ice cream enrobed in almond milk with the season’s first apricots thinly sliced, followed by Cléry strawberries paired with lemon sorbet, marbled meringue and a sticky dried strawberry tuile. // Gwen Jacquère 

FEELING THIRSTY? Cleverly chosen bottles (including a few produced in collaboration with the Aix wine shop Mademoiselle Wine) and wines served by the glass (they also do wine pairings for €60 or €85), like the Volnay 1er cru 2012 by Nicolas Rossignol (€20 a glass), unless you’d rather have Les Clous, a Vendée Chenin-Chardonnay from Thierry Michon (€34 a bottle) or Oréagne, a Jura Chardonnay-Savagnin from Jean-François Ganevat (€150 though!) 
PRICE: Tasting menus €70 and €120.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Sauvage

  • Date
  • partager

Après avoir tâté des fauves (Robuchon, Piège), Loïc Petri est revenu dans son Sud natal en 2019 pour donner vie à cette table du soir, n’accueillant pas plus de neuf paires de fesses ! Dans un espace alliant sol en béton ciré, banquettes bleu canard et appliques globes, Lolo cajole les appétits du gotha aixois et des touristes averti·e·s, avec un menu en sept ou dix salves uppercutantes. Ce qui donnait, l’autre soir, au « petit menu » : émietté de tourteau ripoliné de crème de persil, carotte pickelisée et jus thaumaturgique de favouilles (petits crabes gris) ; chimère de foie gras mariné au verjus et huître pochée, accordés dans un profond bouillon de bœuf au poivre noir ; copeaux de betterave cuite en croûte de sel coiffant une fine tranche d’anguille fumée, le tout dopé par une cinglante crème au raifort ; filets de rou- get nacrés enturbannés de lard de Colonnata, petits pois, artichaut, estragon et jus de soubressade ; ris de veau croustifondant (cuit au sautoir) chapeauté de fines lamelles de calamar chalumé, émulsion de lait fermenté et yaourt de vache citrique ; agneau de lait pyrénéen en deux façons : la selle, cuisson majuscule, dans un jus d’agneau réduit, condiment citron confit pour le peps et harissa de poivron doux, les panoufles en boulette léchée par le binchotan, dans un bouillon limpide au ras el-hanout… ouf ! Pour le dessert, faire confiance à Dominique, la maman de Loïc, et à cette délicate glace pistache lovée dans un lait d’amande et fines lamelles des premiers abricots, puis fraises de Cléry flanquées d’un sorbet citron, meringue marbrée et tuile de fraises collées-séchées. // Gwen Jacquère

POUR LA SOIF ? Des quilles savamment sélectionnées (dont quelques-unes en collab’ avec la cave aixoise Mademoiselle Wine) et des pépites au verre (aussi servies dans le pairing pour 60 et 85 €), comme ce volnay de Nicolas Rossignol (20 € le verre), à moins de préférer le blanc vendéen Les Clous de Thierry Michon (34 € la bouteille) ou le chardo-savagnin jurassien Orégane de Jean-François Ganevat (150 € quand même !).

LES PRIX : Menus 70 et 120 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.