restaurant

Kolam

Restaurant Kolam (Paris)

© Kolam

  • Date
  • share

Where can you catwalk your way to a hearty meal? Try Kolam, a tiny café located on Rue de Lancry, which is unafraid of staining the trendy clothes of its hip crowd with Sri Lankan street food. Running the place is confident chef Lahiru Weladawe, a former marketing exec. Ordered and devoured the day we went for lunch: a perfectly prepared kottu roti, aka paratha sliced into strips and sautéed with coconut sambol, a fried egg, white and green onions, leeks and carrots, all served with the kari of the day – a dry curry the day we went, made with chicken thigh. What else? Cutlets (fried potato and tuna balls), hoppers (bowl-shaped crepes filled with potatoes, seasonal vegetables and meat or eggplant), or indiappa kottu (rice noodles that are steamed and then sautéed, prepared with vegetables and kari). Whether you’re wearing jeans, shorts or a djellaba, to borrow a local Sri Lankan expression, baby, you’ve gotta taste this! // Rosa Poulsard 

FEELING THIRSTY? : Leamo (peach or lemon black tea, ginger green tea, €4), homemade iced tea (black tea, cinnamon, kithul, fruit of the day) or Sri Lankan Lion Beer (€6)… 
PRICE: : Set menu €16, mains €9-12, sides €4-6. 

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Kolam

Restaurant Kolam (Paris)

© Kolam

  • Date
  • partager

Où catwalker bien ravitaillé ? Sur le comptoir de Kolam, nano-cantine sise rue de Lancry, qui ne craint pas de saloper les bonnes sapes de sa faune branchouille avec une street food sri-lankaise. Aux manettes et à la tambouille, Lahiru Weladawe, ancien créa marketeux bien dans ses sneakers – en collab’ avec Adidas. Commandé et dûment dévoré au déj’ : irréprochable kottu roti, soit un paratha énergiquement tranché en lamelles et sauté avec coco sambol, œuf au plat, oignons blanc et vert, poireau et carotte, escorté du kari du jour – un curry sec, cette fois avec du haut de cuisse de poulet. Quoi d’autre ? Des cutlets (boulettes frites de pommes de terre et thon), hoppers (crêpes en forme de bol, agrémentées de pommes de terre, légumes de saison et viande ou aubergine), indiappa kottu (nouilles de riz cuites vapeur puis sautées, avec légumes et kari)… En jean, en short ou en djellaba – comme on dit là-bas, bébé goûte ça ! // Rosa Poulsard

POUR LA SOIF ? Des Leamo (thé noir et pêche, citron, thé vert et gingembre, 4 €), iced tea maison (thé noir, cannelle, kithul, fruit du jour) ou bière sri-lankaise Lion Beer (6 €)…

Les prix : sandwich du jour 8 €, entrées et salades 4-8 €, plats 10-12 €, desserts 5 €, formules 15-17 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.