restaurant

Le Petit Victor Hugo

  • Date
  • share

Keep an eye out for the sleeping beauty of the 16th arrondissement, which has been revamped from floor to ceiling by the talented interior designer Laura Gonzalez. The “PVH” has maintained its Art Deco spirit in this brand-new cozier and more glamorous iteration: a mirrored ceiling, paneled walls, terra cotta tiling, wide leather banquettes, 1970s prints and massive plants. There’s been a renaissance when it comes to the cuisine as well, thanks to the good nautical fare by chef Brahim Goujan (ex-Plaza Athénée). The day we went for lunch, we ordered all of the following à la carte: lobster deviled eggs, a deliciously snobby (but slightly stingy) version of the classic recipe; an impeccable Icelandic cod steak served in a delicious herb broth with coco de Paimpol beans; and an extremely classic pavlova dripping with a red berry and basil compote. There are seafood platters for those looking to indulge, caviar for others… And if you want some fresh air, don’t miss the Petit Toit, one of the most secretive rooftop bars in Paris, where you can savor carpaccio and lobster rolls in a verdant setting. // Yvonne Gambetta  

FEELING THIRSTY? A myriad of cocktails (with or without alcohol) dreamt up by Adèle Fardeau (Flower Gin made with Citadelle gin, violet, Bourgoin verjus, spirulina, tonic water, lemon verbena, egg white… €9 to €14) and a respectable wine list featuring a Petit Chablis from the Domaine Christophe et Fils (€11.50 a glass) and an organic Menetou-Salon from the Domaine de Love (€46), or Tradition, a Crozes-Hermitage white from the Domaine Yann Chave (€63). 
PRICE: Set menus €25-29 (lunch), à la carte €40-68, count on spending between €35 and €145 for seafood.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The new Le Fooding France Guide is available!

Inside the latest edition, discover our top 400 restaurants, bars, wine cellars, shops and hotels from all over France that’ll be the talk of the town in 2024. Anything else? Our 16-strong list of award winners you’ll not find anywhere else, and nine articles which shine a light on the taste of the times!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Le Petit Victor Hugo

  • Date
  • partager

Avis de grand frais sur un bel endormi du 16e, revampé du sol au plafond par l’incontournable designer Laura Gonzalez. Le « PVH » a conservé son esprit Art déco en version désormais feutrée et glamour : plafond miroir, murs lambrissés, carrelage terracotta, larges banquettes en cuir, imprimés seventies enchanteurs et plantes XXL. Renaissance en cuisine aussi, grâce aux bonnes ondes marines du chef Brahim Goujan (ex-Plazza-Athénée). Ce midi-là à la carte, on pioche un lobster mimosa, version délicieusement snob (et un peu chiche) de l’œuf mayo ; un impeccable pavé de cabillaud d’Islande servi dans un friand bouillon aux herbes avec cocos de Paimpol ; et une ultra-classique pavlova à la dégoulinante compotée de fruits rouges et basilic. Plateaux de fruits de mer pour les gobeurs, et caviar pour les autres… Et pour prendre l’air, ne ratez pas le Petit Toit, un des rooftops les plus confidentiels de Paname, où l’on savoure carpaccios et lobster rolls dans un écrin de verdure. // Yvonne Gambetta

POUR LA SOIF ? Une myriade de cocktails (avec ou sans alcool) imaginés par Adèle Fardeau (Flower gin au gin Citadelle, violette, verjus Bourgoin, spiruline, tonic, verveine, egg white… de 9 à 14 €) et une solide carte des vins où l’on repère, en blanc, un petit-chablis Domaine Christophe et Fils (11,50 € le verre) et un menetou-salon bio du Domaine de Loye (46 €), ou un crozes-hermitage blanc Tradition du Domaine Yann Chave (63 €).

LES PRIX Formules 25-29 € (midi), carte 40-68 €, compter 35 à 145 € pour les fruits de mer.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.