restaurant

Rizoom

Rizoom Restaurant (Ghent)

© Rizoom

  • Date
  • share

From inside his kitchen overlooking the dining room with hardwood floors, wood, concrete and black furniture, Yves Kerckhoffs sends out sleek, well-made plates with Nordic-Nipponese twists, after the success of his pop-up ramen bar Shibui. The day we went for lunch, it was a festival of flavor! Fried kale chips in spicy oil and preserved lemon; bass crudo hiding under a shiso leaf; semi-dehydrated beets in a scallop coral jus dotted with Sichuan pepper oil; a dazzling Ostra Régal oyster braised over the fire in its shell, seasoned with trout roe, pale-leaf woodland sunflower root purée and oyster jus; an impressive surf ’n’ turf combo of pearly halibut dry-aged for seven days, cut into thin strips and served over grilled eringi and maitake mushroom tapenade, all drizzled in chicken jus; head-spinningly good Duke of Berkshire pork loin dry-aged in koji and cooked over the embers, paired with yuzu jelly and a warm endive salad, intensified by a stunning pork jus and smoked haddock sauce; and a gentle landing to the meal with kombu ice cream, celeriac caramel and white chocolate crumble. We’re practically speechless! // Alba Nebbioli

FEELING THIRSTY? Over a hundred clean European bottles to pop open in house (including a dozen served by the glass) or take home with you: Hey Mate!, a sparkling Slovakian Pinot noir from Domin & Kušický (€9 a glass, €44 a bottle), Bonsaï, an Austrian red from Claus Preisinger (€56), or Rami, a volcanic Sicilian white from Cos (€70). Unless you’d rather opt for a glass of sake (€6.50 to €12 for 70ml) or homemade kombucha (€6).
PRICE: Tasting menus €52, extra dishes €15, drink pairings (with or without alcohol) €32-42 (lunch), €70 and €115 (dinner, €95 Friday and Saturdays), pairings €42-50.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The new Le Fooding France Guide is available!

Inside the latest edition, discover our top 400 restaurants, bars, wine cellars, shops and hotels from all over France that’ll be the talk of the town in 2024. Anything else? Our 16-strong list of award winners you’ll not find anywhere else, and nine articles which shine a light on the taste of the times!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Rizoom

Restaurant Rizoom (Gand)

© Rizoom

  • Date
  • partager

De sa cuisine, face à la salle parquet-bois-béton meublée de noir, Yves Kerckhoffs, après son bar à ramen éphémère Shibui ici-même, envoie désormais des assiettes épurées de haute volée au twist nordico-nippon. Ce midi-là, un festival ! Chips de kale frit dans l’huile piquante et citron confit ; crudo de bar planqué dans une feuille de shiso ; betterave semi-déshydratée barbotant dans un jus de corail de saint-jacques piqué d’huile au poivre de Sichuan ; éblouissante huître Ostra Régal braisée sur le feu dans sa coquille, œufs de truite, purée d’héliantis et jus d’huître ; impressionnant terre-mer de flétan maturé sept jours, tout juste nacré, en fines lamelles sur une tapenade de champis maitaké et eringi grillés, arrosé d’un jus de poulet ; looping avec une échine de porc Duke of Berkshire maturée au koji et terminée à la braise, escortée d’une gelée de yuzu et d’une salade tiède de chicon, boostée par une étonnante sauce au jus de porc liée au haddock fumé ; et atterrissage en douceur avec une glace au lait infusée au kombu, caramel de céleri-rave et crumble de chocolat blanc. Bec cloué ! // Alba Nebbioli

POUR LA SOIF ? Plus d’une centaine de quilles européennes intègres (dont une dizaine au verre), aussi à emporter : bulles de pinot noir slovaque Hey Mate ! de Domin & Kušický (9 € le verre, 44 € la bouteille), rouge autrichien Bonsaï de Claus Preisinger (56 €), volcanique blanc sicilien Rami de Cos (70 €). À moins de préférer un saké au verre (6,50 à 12 € les 7 cl) ou un kombucha maison (6 €).

LES PRIX : menus 52 €, plat supplémentaire 15 €, accords avec ou sans alcool 32-42 € (midi) 70 et 115 € (soir, 95 € vendredi et samedi), accords 42-50 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

Le guide Fooding 2024
est sorti !

Restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres : les 400 adresses qui vont faire 2024 partout en France sont à retrouver dans cette édition inédite. Avec ça ? Un palmarès de 16 spots pas-vus-partout, et 9 articles mag qui décortiquent l’imagerie de la food contemporaine.

Disponible en kiosque, dans toutes les (bonnes) librairies et sur notre e-shop.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.