restaurant

Sugaar

Restaurant Sugaar (Paris)

© Sugaar

  • Date
  • share

If you happen to be on an excursion to the hot Saint-Germain-des-Prés neighborhood, you may notice people hungry for hype dragging their sugaar daddies and mommies to this voyeuristic spot with braised Basque beauties. Once you’ve made your way past the intriguing club-style entrance, you might run into Alexis Poivre and Joachim Rappaport (who run things here), model and photographer Cate Underwood (who did the artistic direction for the place) or chef Anton Vasyliev, who’s not camera shy either. The night we went, seated in the classy upstairs area with white tablecloths, candles and beautiful tableware, we encountered a festival of high-class products brushed by the flames: generous pan-fried wild mushrooms (chanterelle, hedgehog, porcini and oyster mushrooms) with an egg yolk acting as sauce – or a luxurious beef carpaccio cut from the rib, complemented by an herbaceous olive oil and yuzu zest; classic Simmental txuleta (prime rib), dry-aged for 25 days and cooked to perfection, served with roasted peppers and a charred potato mousse; before an elegant scoop of chocolate mousse, paired wonderfully with olive-oil-infused crème anglaise. // Albertine Simonet 

FEELING THIRSTY? An iconoclastic wine list put together by Joachim: Les Calcinaires, a Côtes-Catalanes red from the Domaine Gauby (€13 a glass), a Touraine Chenin from Le Clos de Mosny produced by Jacky Blot (€69 a bottle), red vermouth from Del Professore (€10 a glass)… 
PRICE: Shared appetizers €15-28, meats €100-150 (for two), desserts €12. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Sugaar

Où paparazzer de braisantes basquités...

Restaurant Sugaar (Paris)

© Cate Underwood

  • Date
  • partager

En virée dans le quartier chaud de Saint-Germain-des-Prés, les affamé·e·s de hype traînent leur sugaar daddy ou mommy jusqu’à ce repaire voyeuriste à basquités braisées. Où croiser, passé l’intrigante entrée façon club, les eat boys Alexis Poivre et Joachim Rappaport (aux manettes), la mannequin et photographe Cate Underwood (à la DA) et le chef Anton Vasyliev – au fourneaux, mais pas fâché avec l’objectif non plus. Ce soir-là, au classieux premier étage, entre nappes blanches, chandelles et vaisselle tirée à quatre épingles, un festival de produits de haute lignée se firent flasher à la flamme : généreuse poêlée de champignons sauvages (girolles, pieds-de-mouton, cèpes, pleurotes) liée au jaune d’œuf – ou luxurieux carpaccio de bœuf découpé dans la côte, émoustillé par une huile d’olive herbacée et des zestes de yuzu ; txuleta (côte de bœuf) de simmental d’anthologie, maturée 25 jours et bien saisie, escortée de poivrons confits et d’une mousse de PDT brûlées ; avant une quenelle de mousse au chocolat en accord parfait avec une crème anglaise à l’huile d’olive. // Albertine Simonet

POUR LA SOIF ? Une carte iconoclasse pilotée par Joachim : côtes-catalanes rouge Les Calcinaires du Domaine Gauby (13 € le verre), chenin tourangeau Clos de Mosny signé Jacky Blot (69 € la bouteille), vermouth rouge Del Professore (10 € le godet)…

LES PRIX : entrées à partager 15-28 €, viandes 100-150 € (pour deux), desserts 12 €.

Le tout premier guide Fooding Belgique !

Inédit, unique, collector, ce guide Fooding Belgique est une mine d’or de 400 adresses quadrillant la Wallonie, la Flandre et Bruxelles. Au fil des 164 pages, vous y découvrirez une flopée de nouveautés, comme le dernier bar à cidre à ne pas louper, mais aussi des institutions bien assises, dont une taverne ouverte il y a plus de 250 ans. Et avec ça, 7 articles magazine bien saucés, le tout illustré par la crème de la crème des artistes belges…

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.