restaurant

Kedem

Restaurant Kedem (Bordeaux)

© Kedem

  • Date
  • share

Gil Elad and Ronan Cadoret are back in town and the lovely scent of toasted sesame is in the air! Eagerly awaited ever since Miles, Mampuku and Massa closed down, the duo set up shop near Place de la République, behind a pine green tile counter. Seated there the day we went for lunch, we devoured some mouthwatering bread (a sesame ka’ak hailing from Jerusalem and a Yemeni smoked chili kubaneh) alongside a series of comforting mezze: a cucumber yogurt dip cheekily infused with pastis, masterfully prepared hummus, and crisp green beans in a honey and sesame paste sauce. What came next? Some incredibly fresh bonito, served lightly marinated with a spoonful of muhammara (red pepper dip) with toasted hazelnuts, tender roasted zucchini, and a touch of crumbled feta – all of which was paired with mouthwatering smoked eggplant caviar prepared like an aioli; before the grand finale, a delicious knafeh served with hibiscus poached peach, all covered with halva whipped cream and a sprinkling of pistachios… Go ahead and eat to your heart’s content! // Marise Effouet

FEELING THIRSTY? Wines from France (Plume, a Saumur-Champigny from Bruno Dubois at €29 a bottle, Granit, a sparkling Gamay from the Château de Lavernette at €37) and elsewhere (Aióra, a Greek white from Moschopolis at €5.50 a glass)… And to go with that, espresso from Café Piha (€2) or cardamom-infused Turkish coffee (€3).

PRICE: Set menu €22-32 (lunch) and €39-45 (dinner).

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Kedem

Restaurant Kedem (Bordeaux)

© Kedem

  • Date
  • partager

Chaud Levant ! Gil Elad et Ronan Cadoret sont de retour en ville, et ça sent bon le sésame grillé ! Hyper-attendu depuis la fermeture de Miles, Mampuku et Massa, le duo s’est installé tout près de la place de la République, derrière un comptoir enfaïencé vert sapin. Accoudés ce midi-là, on y engloutit deux pains succulents (un ka’ak au sésame originaire de Jérusalem, et un kunabeh yéménite au piment fumé) avec une série de réconfortants mezzés : tranches de concombre plongées dans un yaourt twisté au pastis, houmous parfaitement maîtrisé, et haricots verts croquants au miel et à la pâte de sésame. La suite ? Une bonite extra-fraîche, servie juste marinée avec une quenelle de muhammara (caviar de poivrons rouges) aux noisettes torréfiées, de fondantes courgettes rôties et un peu de feta émiettée – tout ça accompagné d’une aguicheuse purée d’aubergine fumée façon aïoli ; avant le coup de grâce, un déli-knafeh flanqué d’une pêche pochée à l’hibiscus, le tout recouvert d’une crème montée au halva et piqueté de quelques pistaches… À boulotter sans faim ! // Marise Effouet

POUR LA SOIF ? Des vins de France (saumur-champigny rouge Plume de Bruno Dubois à 29 € la quille, bulles de gamay Granit par le Château de Lavernette à 37 €) et d’ailleurs (blanc grec Aióra de Moschopolis à 5,50 € le verre)… Et avec ça, un espresso du Café Piha (2 €) ou un café turc infusé à la cardamome (3 €).

LES PRIX : menus 22-32 € (midi) et 39-45 € (soir).

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.