restaurant

Figure

Restaurant Figure (Marseille)

© Christophe Juville

  • Date
  • share

At their ornate powder pink boudoir, foodie friends Christophe Juville (the boss of Spok and Lolo in Paris), Ferdinand Fravega (the former sous chef at Prairial in Lyon) and Rémi Hernandez (the former sous chef at Le Grand Restaurant in Paris) had initially planned just on serving beautiful nectars… and ended up adding some spellbinding small plates to the mix, like the ones we tasted the other night: cheeky dauphine potatoes with two dipping sauces (apricot sauce and herbed mayonnaise); marinated pepper lounging over stracciatella smoked over mezcal, served with juicy peaches and hazelnuts; half a gigantic slow-cooked tomato topped with herbs and toasted peanuts, swimming in an explosively flavorful broth of dashi and rayu (a spicy Japanese sauce); intensely fresh flame-charred sea bream dressed in a muy rico ajo blanco, with sea beans and crunchy almonds; before a perfect melon sorbet with a coffee marshmallow and toasted buckwheat. // Victoria Bout 

FEELING THIRSTY? A natural selection of wines that cuts a fine figure (of course): a Muscadet from the Domaine de la Fessardière (€6 a glass), a Var rosé from Terres des Nus (€7), a Roussillon Carignan from Face B (€44 a bottle)… Along with a few bubbly options as well, like an Alsatian crémant from Les Vins Pirouettes (€5 a glass), kombucha (€4 for 330 ml) or a (sparkling) bissap. 
PRICE: Small plates €7-14. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Figure

Où se remettre au goulot…

Restaurant Figure (Marseille)

© Christophe Juville

  • Date
  • partager

Pas de physio à l’entrée de Figure, juste quelques fines gueules ! Dans leur boudoir rose poudré tarabistroté, les potes Christophe Juville (boss des cantines Spok et de Lolo à Paris), Ferdinand Fravega (ex-second de cuisine au Prairial à Lyon) et Rémi Hernandez (ex-sous-chef au Grand Restaurant à Paris) avaient d’abord prévu de faire boire de jolis nectars… et ont fini par trousser aussi d’ennivrantes tapassiettes, comme celles envoyées en pleine poire l’autre soir : coquines pommes dauphine condimentées d’une double sauce abricot et mayo herbacée ; poivron mariné alangui sur une stracciatella fumée au mezcal, accompagné de pêches juteuses et de noisettes ; maousse demi-tomate confite surmontée d’herbes et de cacahuètes torréfiées, nageant dans un explosif bouillon dashi et rayu (sauce pimentée japonaise) ; frétillant pagre à la flamme habillé d’un ajo blanco muy rico, de salicornes et d’amandes croquantes ; avant un impec sorbet melon, avec guimauve au café et sarrasin toasté. // Victoria Bout

POUR LA SOIF ? Une sélec’ nature qui fait (forcément) très bonne figure : muscadet du domaine de la Fessardière (6 € le verre), rosé varois signé Terres des Nus (7 €), carignan roussillonnais de Face B (44 € la quille)… Quelques bulles aussi, avec un crémant alsacien des Vins Pirouettes (5 € le verre à la tireuse), du kombucha (4 € les 33 cl) ou un (é)moustillant bissap.

LES PRIX : tapassiettes 7-14 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.