restaurant

Jour de Fête

Restaurant Jour de Fête (Valennes)

© Jour de Fête

  • Date
  • share

Major news in Valennes, a not particularly sexy commune in the Perche Sarthois region (population: 322). There’s a new restaurant/épicerie/bakery in town, dreamt up by Raphaële Yon-Araud, housed in a village building that’s been carefully renovated and equipped with a permaculture vegetable garden. Everything is therefore homemade and organic, from the vegetables, herbs and fruits pampered by his daughter Maud to the breads baked by Lucien Poujol, not to mention the terrines and sausages. And what about the grub? Adèle, Maud’s sister, is an inspired new-wave chef (ex-Bouillon in Marseille), backed up in the kitchen by Oscar Raeburn (ex-Ébauchoir in Paris) and Étienne Legrand (who came from the Café du Coin). The night we went, everything varied between very and insanely good: divine zucchini blossom tempura, yogurt and sumac mayonnaise; a stunning marinated eggplant, tomato, redcurrant salad with a miso vinaigrette; incredible pea and broad bean ravioli, with faisselle cheese and cream infused with green pepper geranium leaves; dry-aged pork chops with new potatoes and an excellent charcutière sauce; and to end the meal on a high note, a chocolate cake with basil ganache. // Ringo de Balmalon 

FEELING THIRSTY? A prodigious selection! Local, natural wines of course: Les Souchettes, a Pineau from Hervé Villemade (€4 a glass), L’Herbe Tendre, a Chenin from Cédric Fleury, Avis de Vin Fort, a Cabernet Franc from the Bretons (€30)… And to go with all that, farm-fresh Pelletier cider (€12 a bottle) and local craft beer from La Valennoise (€3.50 for a half-pint)… 
PRICE: Menu €18 (lunch) à la carte €28-30. 

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Jour de Fête

C’est la fête au village !

Restaurant Jour de Fête (Valennes)

© Jour de Fête

  • Date
  • partager

Grosse sensation à Valennes, commune pas vraiment funky du Perche sarthois (322 hab.) : un cool resto-épicerie-boulangerie, imaginé par Raphaële Yon-Araud, abrité dans une bâtisse du village retapée avec soin et appuyé sur un potager en permaculture. Tout y est donc maison et bio, des légumes, herbes et fruits bichonnés par sa fille Maud aux pains de Lucien Poujol, en passant par les terrines et saucisses. Et pour la mise en musique ? Adèle, la sœur de Maud, néo-cuisinière inspirée (ex-Bouillon à Marseille), secondée par Oscar Raeburn (ex-Ébauchoir à Paris) et Étienne Legrand (débarqué du Café du Coin). Ce soir-là, ça se bousculait entre le très et le trop bon : angélique tempura de fleurs de courgette, mayonnaise au yaourt et sumac ; bouleversante salade d’aubergines marinées, tomates, cassis et vinaigrette au miso ; ahurissantes ravioles de petits pois et fèves, faisselle et crème infusée aux feuilles de géranium poivre vert ; côte de cochon maturée, patates nouvelles et sauce charcutière au top ; et pour se finir en beauté, un gâteau choco à la ganache trafiquée au basilic. // Ringo de Balmalon

POUR LA SOIF ? Un prodige ! Des pinards du cru, évidemment nature : menu pineau Les Souchettes d’Hervé Villemade (4 € le verre), chenin L’Herbe Tendre de Cédric Fleury, cabernet franc Avis de Vin Fort signé Breton (30 €)… Avec ça, un cidre fermier Pelletier (12 € la bouteille) et une bière loc(artisan)ale La Valennoise (3,50 € le demi pression)…

LES PRIX : menu 18 € (midi), carte 28-30 €.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.