restaurant

Frenchie

Frenchie (Paris)

© Frenchie

  • Date
  • share

The uncontested king of the small Rue du Nil with his restaurants Frenchie, Frenchie Bar à Vins, Frenchie Caviste and Frenchie To Go, Greg Marchand still reigns imperially at the mother house (exposed stone walls, wooden rafters). The proof could be found on the “small” lunch menu, just the other day: delightful shiitake mushroom and smoked ricotta agnolotti with irresistible baby chanterelles, redcurrants, black garlic and coffee oil, all intensified by a rich mushroom reduction; a cheeky trio of zucchini (sautéed rounds, zucchini blossom tempura and a coulis) swimming alongside smoked Atlantic monkfish tail that was all pearly white and covered in a coconut/green curry/kaffir lime sauce that we would happily drink as a soup! Before a banoffee pie that was given a superb Frenchie twist: a crispy chocolate and pecan crumble coated with dulce de leche mousse and paired with an intense banana sorbet. Well done! // G.D.

FEELING THIRSTY? There’s a long selection of organic and natural wines to suit all budgets: an Alsatian Riesling from Les Mann (€11), an Urfé white from the Domaine des Pothiers (€27 a bottle), an Hautes-Côtes-de-Beaune red from the Domaine Billard (€44), a Marsannay red from René Bouvier (€67)… Or even a Montrachet from the Domaine des Comtes Lafon (€1,550).

PRICE: Menus €55 (lunch) and €95 (five courses).

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Frenchie

Frenchie (Paris)

© Frenchie

  • Date
  • partager

Maître incontesté de la mini-rue du Nil avec Frenchie, Frenchie Bar à Vins, Frenchie Caviste et Frenchie To Go, Greg Marchand régente toujours impérialement sa maison-mère aux pierres et poutres apparentes. Démonstration l’autre jour avec le « petit » menu déj’ : joyaux d’agnolotti garnis de shitakés et ricotta fumée, irrésistibles petites girolles, groseilles, ail noir et huile de café, le tout boosté par une puissante réduction de jus de champignons ; coquette triplette de courgette (rondelles juste sautées, fleur en tempura et coulis) batifolant avec une queue de lotte atlantique nacrée et fumée, emballée par une sauce coco/curry vert/combava qu’on boirait bien en soupe ! Avant un banoffee superbement interprété à la sauce Frenchie : une mousse de dulce de leche nappant un croquant crumble choco aux noix de pécan, le tout accompagné d’un intense sorbet à la banane. Well done ! // G.D.

Démonstration l’autre soir, en cinq temps : thon rouge de ligne de Saint-Jean-de-Luz dans un défrisant leche de tigre à la livèche, avec fraises, concombre et tomates cerises ; tuerie d’agnolotti à la ricotta fumée et aux shitakés, mouillés d’une sauce au café et titillés par du shiso et des mini-girolles ; filet de barbue royalement nacré dans un jus à l’araignée, câliné de pommes de terre rôties ; tronçon de poularde lui aussi rôti, mis en orbite par un jus réduit, bien accompagné de courgettes jaunes, chou-rave, fèves et oignons nouveaux brûlés ; avant, en final magistral, un sablé amande coiffé d’une ganache au sureau, d’un sobert cerise et de petits morceaux de pralin. Well done sir ! // Théodule Mollard 

POURLASOIF ? Une épaisse carte de vins bio ou nature, pour toutes les bourses : riesling alsacien des Mann (11 € le verre), mâcon blanc de Frantz Chagnoleau (37 € la bouteille), hautes-côtes-de-beaune rouge du Domaine Billard (44 €), marsannay rouge étiqueté Bouvier (67 €)… Ou même un montrachet du Domaine des Comtes Lafon (1 550 €). 

LES PRIX : menus 55 € (midi) et 105 € (cinq temps). 

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.